Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These were delicious, and got raves everywhere I've brought them. I used sweet cream butter instead of margarine, a heaping half tsp salt, and vanilla sugar in place of regular white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Added 1/4 teaspoon allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
For a bit sharper taste, grind candied ginger (in a small blender jar) to heighten the ginger spice, sprinkel in a bit of cayenne, as well. I used white whole wheat flour in place of enriched white flour. For a more chrisp cookie, roll the dough into a log, wrap, refrigerate for 2-3 hours or overnight, and slice thin. These cookies can quickly overbake. 8 minutes is just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Perfect chewy gingersnaps at 8.5 minutes in my oven. Used unsulphured molasses (Grandma's brand), and the cookies turned out beautifully with only a hint of the molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
God bless your mother in law! What delicious cookies! I'll be proud to out them in my cookie baskets for Christmas gifts! Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe and it the cookies came out very thin and chewy in the middle. followed the recipe to a TEE so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a good starter recipe. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of allspice, which greatly enhanced the flavor. I also used butter rather than margarine. The cookies were perfectly chewy / crispy. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookie...absolutely perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Oh wow, these were fantastic!!! Only sub I used was butter for margarine. Results were crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, thin, uniform, delicious cookies. My only regret is that I didn't make a double batch, because these bad boys were hard to leave alone after they were set on the cooling rack. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too salty when I doubled the batch - I really like a gingery cookie so I took out the salt and reduced the baking soda and added extra ginger, cinnamon and some cloves - much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States