Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These were delicious, and got raves everywhere I've brought them. I used sweet cream butter instead of margarine, a heaping half tsp salt, and vanilla sugar in place of regular white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Added 1/4 teaspoon allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
For a bit sharper taste, grind candied ginger (in a small blender jar) to heighten the ginger spice, sprinkel in a bit of cayenne, as well. I used white whole wheat flour in place of enriched white flour. For a more chrisp cookie, roll the dough into a log, wrap, refrigerate for 2-3 hours or overnight, and slice thin. These cookies can quickly overbake. 8 minutes is just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Perfect chewy gingersnaps at 8.5 minutes in my oven. Used unsulphured molasses (Grandma's brand), and the cookies turned out beautifully with only a hint of the molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
God bless your mother in law! What delicious cookies! I'll be proud to out them in my cookie baskets for Christmas gifts! Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe and it the cookies came out very thin and chewy in the middle. followed the recipe to a TEE so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a good starter recipe. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of allspice, which greatly enhanced the flavor. I also used butter rather than margarine. The cookies were perfectly chewy / crispy. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookie...absolutely perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Oh wow, these were fantastic!!! Only sub I used was butter for margarine. Results were crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, thin, uniform, delicious cookies. My only regret is that I didn't make a double batch, because these bad boys were hard to leave alone after they were set on the cooling rack. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too salty when I doubled the batch - I really like a gingery cookie so I took out the salt and reduced the baking soda and added extra ginger, cinnamon and some cloves - much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States