Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Good, nuff said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
All around great recipe! Perfect amount of ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Absolutely fantastic. I used half butter half margarine and added one more tablespoon of ginger. Cooked for 9 mins max they make the PERFECT gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I followed these directions exactly. I don't know if I'll be able to go back to eating the ones from the store! Fantastic cookie! Pay close attention to the 1 inch sized balls and 2 inches apart, part of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cookies are sooo soft and moist. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am not a huge gingersnap fan, but I am running my own baking test kitchen this wk and I wanted to find some out-of-the ordinary cookies to add to my repertoire. These were amazing! I thought the dough smelled awful and was sure they would be gross, but it tastes so nice and spicy, but not too much. I used butter instead of margarine. I was surprised at how thin they came out, but they were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. They do spread out, so you may want to roll smaller balls to see how you like their size. Other reviewers are right, be sure to leave them on the pan for five mins once you take them out of the oven. The 8 minutes were perfect. This is a nice cookie to bring to a more sophisticated person, someone who likes drinking tea! I like this as much as I like my snickerdoodles, and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I used butter instead of margerine, that was the only change I made. Using butter made no difference in the outcome of the cookie only just a butter flavor. Excellent. Exactly like Grandma's. Not only are they a beautiful cookie, they are soft and spicy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Someone told me these must be made of gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are awesome, I end up doubling or tripling the spices and I always put cardamom for extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My review is based on my version (my aunt's, actually, based on the version from her/my mom's childhood). It is identical except in two aspects: we use Crisco instead of margarine, and we chill the dough before rolling. I suspect that just makes the dough less sticky to the hand rather than making it impossible to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States