Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are my go-to ginger cookie recipe. They are spicy enough to satisfy adult palates but my grandchildren like them too. I like to add a few Tablespoons of diced, candied ginger bits for a bit more ginger kick. I would agree that these don't have a "snap" texture - they are a bit chewier than that traditional ginger snap but I love them just they way they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've made over 1000 of these cookies to send downrange last year for the holidays and I'll be making 1000 more this year. They travel well and everyone loves them. Thank you for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia Priestley
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Awesome receipe! A bit time consuming but still awesome I added a few things into the receipe like more molasses about 1/2 c , 2 tbsp of orange juice and a pinch of ground cloves and oh man my house smells amazing. I also chilled my dough and it made it a bit easier to make the balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Priestley
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My Mom just passed away at 96 and had used this recipe since I can remember. It is wonderful and a favorite of everyone's. They were served at her funeral..............GREAT RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I am SO disappointed! I used butter instead of shortening, and I used stevia instead of sugar and whole wheat flour. They are dry, didn't spread. It's like eating sawdust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira Atkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was the best Gingersnap cookies ever PS you might need to bring the time down to 8 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Delicious! I have been trying a new recipe a week just to expand my horizons. This one I tried at Christmas and it has become a family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyClem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I enjoy ginger cookies with my coffee and these were amazing, quick and wonderful! Its nice to have homemade weekly ginger cookies :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I substituted all butter instead of shortening too... was veryyyy veryyyy delicius!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States