Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chrystal Oates
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My husbands favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal Oates

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We devoured these! I followed the recipe exactly, and they are perfect! I didn't get five dozen, only four dozen. I guess I rolled them a tiny bit bigger, but the 10 minute cooking time was still just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are amazing cookies!! My husband and I loved them!! I used butter in place of shortening as other reviewers suggested and chilled the dough to make it easier to work with. Was easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
these cookies bake down way too thin.... I have used another recipe that uses butter and makes a way better cookie. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Simple, delicious, a huge hit at home and work. My coworkers swooned at the first bite, definitely keeping this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ntmitch
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I just finished making these and they are amazing! I made them half the size and added ground cloves. Crispy and crunchy and wonderful. I made them as a sweet/savoury hors d'oeuvres - make a thumbprint when they're just out of the oven if they're a little puffy, then cool. To serve, put a small dollop of a preserve of choice, place a small piece of aged white cheddar on top of the jam and add a tiny bit of jam o top of that (for decorative purposes). The combination of flavors explodes in your mouth! Makes 72 hors d'oeuvres.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this with butter. Came out great! I also added 1/8 tsp. ground cloves and 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger. I think the candied ginger made the difference and made the cookies have more ginger "zing." Definitely a winner. Lovely crisp cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These cookies were actually amazing! I cut the recipe in half. I used fancy molasses.. my batter wasnt as dark as i wanted so i added an extra 2tbsp. This made the batter soft and didnt turn into a dough. So i just dropped the cookies with a small scoop. The cookies turned out flat but i love them like that! They are absolutely delicious! the perfect amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicaOChika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. Thank you Marie for sharing this delicious family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Tried this prior to a Christmas cookie exchange and love them. I like the softness they have, but I did add 1 Tsp ground cloves. However, they seem to have a tad too much baking soda. I'll test it with half as much next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States