Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My Mom just passed away at 96 and had used this recipe since I can remember. It is wonderful and a favorite of everyone's. They were served at her funeral..............GREAT RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I am SO disappointed! I used butter instead of shortening, and I used stevia instead of sugar and whole wheat flour. They are dry, didn't spread. It's like eating sawdust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira Atkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was the best Gingersnap cookies ever PS you might need to bring the time down to 8 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Delicious! I have been trying a new recipe a week just to expand my horizons. This one I tried at Christmas and it has become a family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyClem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I enjoy ginger cookies with my coffee and these were amazing, quick and wonderful! Its nice to have homemade weekly ginger cookies :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I substituted all butter instead of shortening too... was veryyyy veryyyy delicius!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These cookies were awesome! I made a few changes (mainly through accident or limited supplies), and the cookies came out perfect! First, I substituted all butter because I don't cook with shortening. I read online that 3/4 cup is 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter. I used two tablespoons of ginger (because I am an idiot and read the recipe wrong), but they came out lovely as a mid-range spicy cookie and not at all overpowering. For the cinnamon sugar I mixed 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon, 1/2 tablespoon ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon salt (the salt really accents the spiciness well and is very subtle). I had some of the sugar and spice mix left over, so I put it in a sealed container to use on something else later. I happen to love super spicy ginger snaps, so I may add more ginger (and possibly a hint of nutmeg) next time. New favorite cookie for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Hands down, the best gingersnap cookie recipe!! But, I use butter instead of shortening. Butter makes everything better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States