Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were fantastic! We sprinkled them with a little powdered sugar yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittanybench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Make sure you don't over mix the batter, or the pancakes will be flat and rubbery. The first time I made this, it was a flop, but it was my own fault. I definitely read in too much of the reviews. When I made this again, I reduced the water to just one cup, and instead of baking soda, I added another teaspoon of baking powder. I agree that the gingerbread flavor was not very strong, but my kids loved it! I also was out of molasses, so I subbed maple syrup (maybe why the flavor was milder?)Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
After reading some of the reviews, I decreased the ater to 1 1/4 cups. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda. I also had a smidgen of cloves. The pancakes turned out light and fluffy. However, the gingerbread flavor was a it lacking. Next time I will increase the spice amount and add a couple tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were okay. I do like less fluffy pancakes so the texture was good but the flavor was too weak. I am still looking/experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love gingerbread, but these are kind of not to my liking... They make the house smell nice though which is why they get 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious! I followed recipe other than adding some extra of the spices and topping with some toasted nuts. I would recommend using real maple syrup, agave nectar, or top with fresh whipped cream for a more decadent pancake. My fiance awoke to spicy, warm, and comforting smells. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I have made these pancakes twice. My husband and I both love them. If you like gingerbread you will love these. The only change I made was I added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were very good but if you want to make them a five out of five, add a little more salt and replace 1 cup of water with 1 cup of buttermilk. I promise you, these will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Oh, these are so tasty! I reduced water by 1/4c. The dough was just right. I better stock up on molasses :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I really liked the idea of these. We LOVE gingerbread at our house. I read the reviews and used heaping measuring spoons of the spices. I also reduced the water by 1/4 cup and added more baking powder. They tasted good, but were really thin. I will try them again usin gonly 1 cup of water and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States