Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Substituted the water for 1 cup of skim milk, and heaped up each portion of the spices just a bit. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good, but the batter did not rise well. Doubled spices, extra tsp baking powder and 1/4 less water. Try with even less water next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My son has a lot of allergies so I used a rice flour mix and flax seed as an egg substitute. I usually make buttermilk pancakes so I used 1 cup of soy milk for the water; it was rather thick so I added about another cup of water to thin it out. I admittedly (and a little ashamedly) forgot to add the molasses/brown sugar because making the substitutes distracted me, so my husband didn't enjoy it so much, but my son ate all on his plate, and that is a huge accomplishment, so I will definitely try these again. It's been difficult for us to find a bread-like product that my son will eat that is allergen-free, so finding this recipe has been such a blessing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were good with maple syrup and cool whip on top. Next time I would add a little bit of sugar to the mix and they would be good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe....I took other reviewers suggestions and doubled most of the spices, I also increased the baking soda to make them more fluffy. Oh, and I also decreased the liquid a bit, and even tried one batch using soy milk nog.....it was super yummy! I would certainly make these again, especially with the molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Good recipe but needed a few minor adjustments. I upped the amount of flour to 2 cups, added more spices (1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp of vanilla). I also used 1% milk instead of water. Turned out great! Not to thin or thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Thank you! What a unique recipe. It's nice to have a pancake recipe without milk! I got 18 VERY small pancakes out of this. I made the recipe as written except I doubled the baking powder and soda, as another reviewer suggested, so the pancakes wouldn't be so thin, and I doubled the ginger and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very filling! Really did taste like gingerbread.I was reminded of the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Tasty! I used part OJ and part water. I'd make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Made these christmas morning and they are delicious and SO easy to make! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States