Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Switched out 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour for all-purpose and added 1/4 tsp more baking powder as others suggested. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Reading some of these other comments helped make these extra tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
READ THROUGH THE OTHER REVIEWS BEFORE MAKING THIS RECIPE! As a base, it's a decent recipe, but like many have said, it is way too thin. I added less water, more flour, 2 TB brown sugar, and an extra teaspoon of cinnamon. Were I to make it again, I'd add more ginger too. But after all those tweaks, the pancakes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
If you like gingerbread, you'll like these pancakes. But you must cut down on the liquid. I used 1 cup of milk (rather than water, for a richer taste), and the batter was still very loose but the final pancakes were nice and fluffy. I didn't have quite enough molasses so I subbed some brown sugar for the remaining molasses. I also added a dash of nutmeg. The smell of these cooking was amazing but the actual pancakes were a bit bland. Still worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I did this the lazy way by using a cup and a half of pancake mix and then adding the recommended amount of spices, molasses and vanilla then just adding water until it reached my preferred consistency. Delicious! If you have pancake mix save yourself the trouble of mixing the dry ingredients and just use that instead. Doing it this way will also fix the problems that some reviewers were having with the pancakes not being fluffy or thick enough... If it's too thin just add a little more pancake mix - too thick? Add a little more water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
They are rather doughy and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Ranson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this eggless as we have an allergy in our house. I used 1c water and 1/2 c orange juice in place of the water. I also used egg replacer in place of egg. My family and extended family ask for these all the time, they can be a bit runny, I just add a tiny bit more flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaerwen Herben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Good basic recipe. My grandmother may have just spoiled me, but I've always believed that pancakes should be able to stand alone, not smothered in syrup. I, like other reviewers, like a fluffy pancake. So I only used 1 c water. Added 1Tbsp sugar. Used 2 tsp cinnamon, 2tsp ginger & 1/4 tsp clove, for bite. For my taste they turned out perfect. Note, since the batter will be thicker, you will need to spread it around a bit on your griddle. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used this recipe for the gingerbread flavor, but adapted the Fluffy Pancakes recipe as my base. I made them this morning for Christmas brunch and they came out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made these for Christmas breakfast this morning. I'm thankful I read the reviews beforehand. I reduced the water by 1/4 cup and the consistency and fluffiness was perfect!! I also added a pinch of nutmeg, but couldn't actually taste it anyway. Next time, I will keep the water deduction the same and add 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. A great starting point for a recipe, but given four stars for the excess water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States