Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I did this the lazy way by using a cup and a half of pancake mix and then adding the recommended amount of spices, molasses and vanilla then just adding water until it reached my preferred consistency. Delicious! If you have pancake mix save yourself the trouble of mixing the dry ingredients and just use that instead. Doing it this way will also fix the problems that some reviewers were having with the pancakes not being fluffy or thick enough... If it's too thin just add a little more pancake mix - too thick? Add a little more water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I should have read the reviews first! These are not fluffy pancakes. They are rather doughy and tasteless. We make pancakes at least 2 weekends a month. My first clue should have been the amount of water. If you are lactose free, they would be OK. Reading through the reviews you can see that any 4 or 5 star ratings have changed the original recipe to their own version. This is not giving a true rating. I will not make these again unless I change it as other reviewers have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Ranson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this eggless as we have an allergy in our house. I used 1c water and 1/2 c orange juice in place of the water. I also used egg replacer in place of egg. My family and extended family ask for these all the time, they can be a bit runny, I just add a tiny bit more flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaerwen Herben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Good basic recipe. My grandmother may have just spoiled me, but I've always believed that pancakes should be able to stand alone, not smothered in syrup. I, like other reviewers, like a fluffy pancake. So I only used 1 c water. Added 1Tbsp sugar. Used 2 tsp cinnamon, 2tsp ginger & 1/4 tsp clove, for bite. For my taste they turned out perfect. Note, since the batter will be thicker, you will need to spread it around a bit on your griddle. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used this recipe for the gingerbread flavor, but adapted the Fluffy Pancakes recipe as my base. I made them this morning for Christmas brunch and they came out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made these for Christmas breakfast this morning. I'm thankful I read the reviews beforehand. I reduced the water by 1/4 cup and the consistency and fluffiness was perfect!! I also added a pinch of nutmeg, but couldn't actually taste it anyway. Next time, I will keep the water deduction the same and add 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. A great starting point for a recipe, but given four stars for the excess water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved them! I made them GF with the GF flour blend and added just a bit more baking powder to add fluffiness per other reviewers. Yummy!* Update, I made them regular this morning and I agree with other reviewers...up the spice, cut back a bit on the water and up the bp. So good~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
If you let the batter set up a few minutes, it's still thin but finishes better. Like others I added 2ish T of sugar and 1/2 t more powder. Next time I'll increase spices and reduce molasses a touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveMyMastiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Bland, thin pancakes that were flat. Looked beautiful but the taste was not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The batter was very thin so I added a 1/2 cup of flour and a 1/2 tsp of baking powder. The pancakes turned out very well. They tasted good and smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States