Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I read through the reviews very carefully before making this, which I think was my first mistake. I usually don't do that and fly by the seat of my shorts. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze some for busy mornings, added more baking powder for a fluffier pancake, doubled the spices and added nutmeg and allspice and I cut the water down to two cups, as a lot of people mentioned that the batter was way too wet. My pancakes were pretty thick and fluffy but they were a pain to cook. The spices I doubled and added were perfect, it's just that maybe cutting back the liquid to two cups was too much? Next time, I'll cut it back only a half cup and I think it might be perfect. It really does need the extra baking powder for a fluffier pancake. That being said, tasty pancake. Even with my flub-up's, this recipe made 15 large pancakes when doubled. Out of the 15, I had three leftover. My boys loved them. I had a small bite of one and thought it was mighty tasty. My son actually remarked that "these are the best pancakes EVER, Mom".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good recipe. I didn't have molasses, so I substituted it with 3 Tbsp firmly packed brown sugar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elmira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious gingerbread taste. Smelled and tasted amazing. The only reason that this is not a 5 star recipe is because they came out a little flat. I like my pancakes a little fluffier. I'll keep the spices, vanilla and molasses and try to alter the recipe for a fluffier result next time. Will definitely keep working on this recipe though, because it was a hit with my ginger-living husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
everyone loved them!!!! These were fantastic, I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
not bad, i added 2 TBSP of brown sugar and another 1/2 tsp of baking powder. made the house smell like christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Doubled recipe, reduced water by 1/2 cup overall and added a pinch more spices. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
didn't change the recipe..all the kids could say was these are the best. We like thin pancakes so thats great. Not fluffy..Perfect thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Batter is way too thin, and the pancakes are very thin too. Sorry, though the taste is good, the pancakes look awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hcorianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woudenberg, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Mmm, delicious! Thanks CKincaid1! The flavor was exactly what we'd hoped for. We reduced the water to 1 c. and I wish we hadn't. They were a little too thick. Excellent with whipped cream, maple syrup, bananas and strawberries. Or by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Love these!!! Thanks to your wonderful Grammie!! I made these this morning for my 2 little girls and myself and we just loved them. I am going to put the leftovers in the toaster oven tomorrow for breakfast for them before school!! Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States