Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Made these christmas morning and they are delicious and SO easy to make! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These are my absolute favorite pancakes.... they are perfect with only a slight drizzle of syrup.. and plain. I always double the recipe, add a couple table spoons of brown sugar, and increase the baking powder by 1/2 teaspoon. we turn it into a gingerbread day and munch on them plain ALL day long. My daughters love them :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These pancakes had a good flavor, but turned out pretty thin. I think next time I'd cut down on the water, since we like our pancakes a little thicker. But they're really good with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was very excited about this recipe and enjoyed the pancakes a lot during the holiday season. I am a fan of a thin, crepe like pancake so these were right on target for me on texture and fluff. I thought that the gingerbread taste was mild, so like some other reviewers I think I would adjust some of the spices in the future. Overall they were delicious and the family ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were fantastic! We sprinkled them with a little powdered sugar yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittanybench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Make sure you don't over mix the batter, or the pancakes will be flat and rubbery. The first time I made this, it was a flop, but it was my own fault. I definitely read in too much of the reviews. When I made this again, I reduced the water to just one cup, and instead of baking soda, I added another teaspoon of baking powder. I agree that the gingerbread flavor was not very strong, but my kids loved it! I also was out of molasses, so I subbed maple syrup (maybe why the flavor was milder?)Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
After reading some of the reviews, I decreased the ater to 1 1/4 cups. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda. I also had a smidgen of cloves. The pancakes turned out light and fluffy. However, the gingerbread flavor was a it lacking. Next time I will increase the spice amount and add a couple tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were okay. I do like less fluffy pancakes so the texture was good but the flavor was too weak. I am still looking/experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love gingerbread, but these are kind of not to my liking... They make the house smell nice though which is why they get 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious! I followed recipe other than adding some extra of the spices and topping with some toasted nuts. I would recommend using real maple syrup, agave nectar, or top with fresh whipped cream for a more decadent pancake. My fiance awoke to spicy, warm, and comforting smells. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States