Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Substituted the water for 1 cup of skim milk, and heaped up each portion of the spices just a bit. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good, but the batter did not rise well. Doubled spices, extra tsp baking powder and 1/4 less water. Try with even less water next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My son has a lot of allergies so I used a rice flour mix and flax seed as an egg substitute. I usually make buttermilk pancakes so I used 1 cup of soy milk for the water; it was rather thick so I added about another cup of water to thin it out. I admittedly (and a little ashamedly) forgot to add the molasses/brown sugar because making the substitutes distracted me, so my husband didn't enjoy it so much, but my son ate all on his plate, and that is a huge accomplishment, so I will definitely try these again. It's been difficult for us to find a bread-like product that my son will eat that is allergen-free, so finding this recipe has been such a blessing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were good with maple syrup and cool whip on top. Next time I would add a little bit of sugar to the mix and they would be good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe....I took other reviewers suggestions and doubled most of the spices, I also increased the baking soda to make them more fluffy. Oh, and I also decreased the liquid a bit, and even tried one batch using soy milk nog.....it was super yummy! I would certainly make these again, especially with the molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Good recipe but needed a few minor adjustments. I upped the amount of flour to 2 cups, added more spices (1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp of vanilla). I also used 1% milk instead of water. Turned out great! Not to thin or thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Thank you! What a unique recipe. It's nice to have a pancake recipe without milk! I got 18 VERY small pancakes out of this. I made the recipe as written except I doubled the baking powder and soda, as another reviewer suggested, so the pancakes wouldn't be so thin, and I doubled the ginger and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very filling! Really did taste like gingerbread.I was reminded of the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Tasty! I used part OJ and part water. I'd make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Made these christmas morning and they are delicious and SO easy to make! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States