Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very moist and tasty. The batter looked weird because it was so chunky with apples, but I just left it like that and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
It was so hot here today that I wanted a reminder of autumn! I doubled this so I could use my bundt pan and made the following adjustments to the recipe: added 2/3 cup dark brown sugar for a total of 1-2/3 c sugar instead of 2 cups; added 1 T vanilla; I shredded 2 large Braeburn apples and added 1/4 cup applesauce (for those that are tempted to add moisture to the thick batter, shred the apples and they will impart plenty of moisture--it will be like a normal cake batter once you get the apples mixed in) ; I didn't double the nuts--used 1/2 cup pecans; used 1 cup dates, no raisins; added a dash of nutmeg. Instead of doubling the oil, I was going to add 1/4 cup melted butter, but I forgot to add it--I didn't miss it at all. I would like to try it next time with 1/2 wheat flour. Now for the review: I love apple cake & my husband loves date cake--this is a perfect compromise. The cake is moist and flavorful and we both loved it. I added a glaze but it doesn't need anything to enhance it. It absolutely deserves 5 stars--thanks Steven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Excellent!!! This cake is so very moist and easy to make. Better than a box and just as fast. I omitted the raisins for personal taste. At first, the batter looked really crumbly and I added a little milk (like 1/8 cup) next time, and there will be a next time I will not add the milk, as I think the apples moisten the batter. I also put the thinnest layer of cream cheese frosting on. Though it is great solo. Boyfriend LOVES it. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was delicious!! The apples made the cake super moist. I love the size. I originally made it to bring to a friends house. Unfortunately, I ended up eating all of it. I left out the raisins. I also had to cook it longer than expected. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I LOVE this bread~! I did follow several hints from other reviewers....I used 1/2 cup sauce and 1 diced apple; I added 1 tsp. apple pie spice; and I only sprinkled some of the second pack of oatmeal on top. But I also used Smart Balance Light spread instead of butter....I used Splenda instead of sugar....I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, and I used Apple Raisin Supreme packs of oatmeal. I was worried that it would be dry as the batter was very stiff, and also using the Smart Balance spread...but it turned out WONDERFUL...moist and flavorful with chuncks of apple. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to add some raisins and nuts to the mix. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was really good and easy. I was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make at my boyfriend's bachelor pad... with few ingredients and using no fancy equipment. This was perfect. He does not even own any baking pans, so I actually baked this in a coffee can - and it was great - like a giant muffin. I added an extra egg, and a little milk to get the batter to the consistancy I wanted, perhaps b/c I used 3 apples, which was prob a little more than 2 cups, and baked it longer b/c of the coffee can (about 1 hr and 10-15 mins). This dissappeared in less than 24 hours, and I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
First off, I have to say... I suck at cooking, especially baking! Several years ago a friend of mine made an apple cake and I absolutely loved it. Since then, I have been looking for a recipe that compares and I must say... my search is over! Grandmas Fresh Apple Cake is now gonna be Pearl's apple cake also! As for something helpful to add... I must say that the batter seemed very thick right before I added the chopped apples.. but I just put some elbow grease into it and I ended up with a really moist and chewy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe. I replaced white for whole wheat flour and used the new Splenda/sugar baking combo. It was a pretty darn good loaf cake for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very easy and very yummy!! I did not change anything, except I didn't add any dates or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This cake had great flavor and was so moist. It was really easy to make. I am planning on making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States