Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I came here all ready to give this recipe a poor review, because it absolutely fell apart for me. I threw the remnants in a pie dish and still served it, slightly angry about the mistake. Of course, when it was time to eat, I realized just how incredible this recipe is. The cake was utterly delicious, topped with the Caramel IV sauce, the gourmands in my house were in heaven. I do not even like apples, and I could not find a single fault with the cake. I added vanilla, and I took out the nuts. But that was it for alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wow this cake/bread is wonderfully delicious! I can't believe how easy it was to make & it didn't last more than two days in my house! Didn't change a thing except for leaving out the raisins. Thanks so much, I will be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I liked the recipe, but it was way to sweet for me. I would probably add only 2/3 of the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c_paula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Tasty apple cake recipe! We substituted splenda for the sugar and used dates instead of raisins. It was the first time I made apple cake and I enjoyed it. We will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
this is my first ever review of a recipe....iv tried many recipes here and so far nothing has motivated me to write a review except this one...its sooo good!!!! i doubled the recipe and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and used brown sugar instead of white. it came out unbelieveably good. moist and rich and not overly sweet....everybody should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is delicious - very moist and flavorful. CHANGES: I shredded the apples, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, used half whole wheat flour and half white flour, used dates (no raisins and no nuts). ADDITIONS: added a pinch of nutmeg, some artificial butter flavor, 1 tsp. of vanilla. I also added a crumbly topping made of flour and sugar with some butter cut in. Next time I might decrease the amount of sugar by a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittLttl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Thanks for a tasty treat! I went apple picking yesterday and have lots of apple to use. This looked like the easiest apple cake recipe on the site, but after making it, I am sure it is one of the best as well. I also added a little vanilla like another reviewer, but that was the only change I made. It was so moist and delicious--wonderful with a nice cup of coffee. Thanks so much for sharing with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Fantastic, yummy, moist, perfect! I doubled the recipe, except the sugar, and used a 9x13" pan, baked for about 35 minutes. I left out the nuts and raisins this time. The sugar can easily be halved--the whole amount would be way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I lOVED this cake it was a health treat for my kids. My oldest daughter made the cake by herself and she was great and we added cinamin on the top of the cake it was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States