Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This cake was a GREAT low-fat recipe that satisfies the sweet-tooth (especially for my Mother who has been trying to watch her weight lately). The cake came out more the consistency and texture of a heavy loaf bread rather than a light & fluffy cake, but it was still very moist and very tasty (I doubled the recipe & used a bundt pan). My Mother raved about it and asked for the recipe to hand out at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberSiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
OMG - this was too good. Glad I gave most of it away before i even tasted it. I would have downed it all. I omitted the raisins and nuts, and added more apple than it called for. Also made them in muffin form with whole wheat flour. They didn't look pretty, but they tasted AWESOME! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This cake does have more of a bread type texture. It is similar to banana bread, but with the apple taste. With that being said, it is still absolutely delicious. I made this for my 9 year old daughter's birthday by her request. I doubled the recipe and it fit a 10 inch round cake pan perfectly. My daughter wanted Spongebob Squarepants on top of her cake so I made some cream cheese frosting for decorating. The frosting complimented the spicey apple taste of this cake wonderfully. Everyone ranted and raved about how good the cake was! I even had to make another batch of it the next day because my husband wanted more. This time I baked it in a loaf pan and skipped the frosting. It was still a HUGE hit! I'm definitely keeping this in my recipe box and I am sure it will be used very often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I came here all ready to give this recipe a poor review, because it absolutely fell apart for me. I threw the remnants in a pie dish and still served it, slightly angry about the mistake. Of course, when it was time to eat, I realized just how incredible this recipe is. The cake was utterly delicious, topped with the Caramel IV sauce, the gourmands in my house were in heaven. I do not even like apples, and I could not find a single fault with the cake. I added vanilla, and I took out the nuts. But that was it for alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wow this cake/bread is wonderfully delicious! I can't believe how easy it was to make & it didn't last more than two days in my house! Didn't change a thing except for leaving out the raisins. Thanks so much, I will be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I liked the recipe, but it was way to sweet for me. I would probably add only 2/3 of the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c_paula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Tasty apple cake recipe! We substituted splenda for the sugar and used dates instead of raisins. It was the first time I made apple cake and I enjoyed it. We will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
this is my first ever review of a recipe....iv tried many recipes here and so far nothing has motivated me to write a review except this one...its sooo good!!!! i doubled the recipe and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and used brown sugar instead of white. it came out unbelieveably good. moist and rich and not overly sweet....everybody should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is delicious - very moist and flavorful. CHANGES: I shredded the apples, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, used half whole wheat flour and half white flour, used dates (no raisins and no nuts). ADDITIONS: added a pinch of nutmeg, some artificial butter flavor, 1 tsp. of vanilla. I also added a crumbly topping made of flour and sugar with some butter cut in. Next time I might decrease the amount of sugar by a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittLttl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States