Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Super good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was apprehensive about the very little cake mix to apple ratio but it worked out to be a tender, apple loaf. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
On the positive, it is quite tasty. On the negative, it needs more dough! If I was EVER to make it again I would double the dough. I've had the recipe printed for 3 years but had never made it....probably won't again. Sorry but there is no way mine looked anywhere near what the photo at the top looks like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Wow this is so yummy I didn't have raisins so I chopped up some prunes I had and they are super sweet. Also I drizzled some Carmel sauce on top, wow it was like candy good! I was a little unsure because it was not such a wet batter but it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Used more apples and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was a good jumping off point for me. I cut the sugar in half, used 4 oz applesauce in place of the oil, used less cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp allspice, used 3 apples, 2 eggs and then I put the batter in a pre heated cast iron pan greased with 2 Tbs coconut oil and then baked it as directed. One major problem with this - cannot stop eating it :) I think it will have to be renamed - Disappearing Apple Cake. Thank you very much for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
What a loaf cake should taste like. This a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used 3 large apples with chopped dates and walnuts, and used 'pretend' brown sugar. I also took note of another reviewer's hints and added an extra egg and a dribble of milk for consistency. An absolute dream!!! What a gorgeous recipe. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Chavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
A nice and simple apple cake (we like the addition of dates). Almost failproof if recipe followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made it exactly as printed - may have added a few extra apple pieces but everything else was the same. We loved it. A very moist loaf cake. I wish I had some whipped cream to put on it or vanilla ice cream as it lends itself to that. I gave it 4 stars as I thought it was a little sweet but my huband gave it 5 stars and said he had no trouble with the sweetness. I may cut out 1/4 cup of sugar next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States