Grandma's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kekohl
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Great! I used extra virgin olive oil and added a bit extra worcestershire and a pinch of cayenne pepper! A true french dressing indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
While I didn't feel like this was a real french dressing: tasted more like Italian to me, it was still pretty good! I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I love this dressing! When my husband and I were in Paris many of my salads came with a dressing similar to this one. I am especially fond of this over butter lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was delish! I made it with just a quarter of the onion on mistake, but that was just enough to make a great kickin' french dressing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This was just awful, tasted nothing like french dressing. We tasted it after the refrigeration and threw the rest out. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Better than any bottled I have ever had, also better than any homemade I have ever had. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I used this recipe as part of the ingredients in Cranberry Sauce Chicken 1 (on this site)and it was wonderful. Tarragon is the herb that really gives it a special flavor. I didn't have any white wine vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Finally, a true French dressing. I use a quality red wine vinegar at times for a different flavor and olive oil(extra virgin)instead of vegetable oil. I wish I knew why Americans seem to insist to add sugar or ketchup to everything,even salad dressings. A nice addition would be some chopped chives and green onions. And in case anyone was wondering why dry mustard instead of prepared mustard: in addition to adding flavor it helps keep the oil and vinegar from separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I just tried this on a spinach salad and it was great! I don't like dressings with sugar, or at least very little sugar, so my husband I both say this is a keeper. Now we won't have to eat all those preservatives in bottled dressings. Thank you Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This dressing does not taste like French. It's more like a spicy oil and vinegar or Italian. Tastes fine but is not what you expect from the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States