Grandma's Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Made this with lite cool whip and added chopped pecans; just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is excellent salad and really delicious too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
my friend made this for an office christmas party and it was really good. We all agreed it was best with the whip cream and not the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Libby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
**REVISED REVIEW: Following another cooks post I now make this salad with ONE change. I now substitute HALF the sour cream (I use light sour cream) with a good grade lowfat vanilla flavored yogurt. It's even b-e-t-t-e-r with a few less calories. Bingo..this is it! My fiance' always talked about a wonderful salad his grandmother used to make at the holidays, and he tried to tell me what he thought was in it. Guess what? No changes..., and it was so fun to be able to bring some of his lost family traditions to our own table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Our family has made this for at least 3 generations. We also add Maraschino cherries and chopped pecans. My dad's side of the family uses cool whip instead of sour cream. We make this for holidays every year and when I make it I stick some back in the fridge for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
this was fun to make, easy to make and quite good. However, it wasn't very popular at the buffet. Their loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrophyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Our Nana always made this for special occasions and it is now one of the most requested dishes at family gatherings!Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving, but make at least 3-4 servings for a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I've always enjoyed this salad. I needed to take something to a church function and had everything except the mandarin oranges. I had a 10 oz jar of marachino cherries. I just drained them and added them to the mixture. It turned out great! This stuff is almost a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Oh Yummy. Good to keep in the fridge. No artificial taste as with some "fluffy" fruit salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States