Grandma's Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a classic recipe and was loved by everyone who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I could eat an enitre bowl of this myself ( and I am ashamed to admit...I have). Best served after chilling several hours and the sour cream has married with marshmallows causing them to melt ever so slightly. I also use 1/2 to 1 cup chopped walnuts in this too- this gives the salad an interesting texture and a tiny bit of crunch. The hint of flavor they add is heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Always a favorite, my mom used to make this all the time. I never knew how it was put together before, its so easy! I found this recipe for a hawaiian party I had recently. It was the first to go. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Awesome dessert salad. I know that kids must go ga-ga over this one. It was a bit too sweet for my taste, so next time I am going to omit the marshmallows and try some more fruit... I was thinking blueberries for a pretty color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Wow! Being Jewish (and in South Africa), I had never tried this recipe before. What a fantastic combination of flavours!I made this for my family, who all requested the recipe. I'm very impressed. Thank you for sharing this! (I'm going to try this next time with some tinned litchis for a more tropical flavour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I grew up eating this salad! A wonderful way to make it is to use vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. It adds a bit of sweetness without overpowering it. (My mom said she has made it with pina colada yogurt and that was really good.) Whenever I make this to bring places, I leave out the coconut because there are many people who do not like coconut. They always rave on it and it's so simple to make :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
The first time I tried this recipe I didn't like the texture of it so I changed the coconut to desicated and only added about three quarters of a cup and it was absolutely delicious. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I loved this stuff!! My husband is very picky and loved it too! I have also added fruit cocktail to it to give it a little more fruit. MMMMMMMMM Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Can ya'll say YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is really good....don't let the sour cream throw you off, it has a really fresh, tropical sort of flavor. No modifications made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States