Grandma's Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added sliced marachino cherries to make it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldridge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This an excellent side dish. It's good with colored marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It wouldn't have been a holiday at Grandma's without her Ambrosia salad. Gram used cool whip and sour cream, left out the coconut, and added maraschino cherries....perfect! Thanks for the memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
So easy and only a few ingredients! Tastes great, and a fast preparation makes it perfect if you need to bring a side dish to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
My mother-in-law gave me this recipe with all the same ingredients, using 1 cup of each so it was truly "5 cup salad." However, the variation I use to make it lower fat and less calories, is replace the sour cream with dannon low-fat peach yogurt. Hubby thinks it tastes better with the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This very like my mom's "summer salad." Without fail, this dish is always gone at the end of a picnic. I omit the coconut per my mom's tradition, but other than that, this is a summer classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I made this salad for a barbeque I was going to and everyone loved it,I kept writing recipes out for everyone there which wasnt hard, since there is only 5 ingredients I had to remember.My son who is a very picky eater liked it a lot too.Thank you very much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this for my daughter's Hawaiian luau & the girls thought it was okay. Actually, some loved it & others were grossed out (but hey, they are 10 years old). I enjoyed it - I know my mom used to make this when I was little. I don't know if I will have a craving for this again anytime soon - it is very sweet - but it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
My mother also made this salad every summer growing up. However, she used an 8oz package of cream cheese instead of the sour cream. Let the cheese soften and come to room temperature before trying to blend all ingredients. This is definetly an old time classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Perfect picnic salad. I served it as a side dish with a casserole and it was a nice, light sweet accompaniment. And it is soooo easy to throw together. This is one of those easy recipes that you make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States