Grandma's Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is such a yummy salad and so easy! Makes a great take a long for a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Add food coloring to coconut to fit the seasoning - ie/ green and red for Christmas..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My step-mom used to make this for us for Christmas too, we called it sour cream salad though. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Delicious, but double the recipe if you're feeding a crowd. There is no way this is 8 servings as is, unless everyone's only taking a few bites. I also add maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yum! My mother used to make this for her "fancy ladies' luncheons". I made it with your recipe for old-times sake and was not disappointed. Best to leave it in the fridge for 24 hours, the marshmallows get soft and puffy. Also, you can make this with low-fat vanilla or orange/creamsicle yogurt instead of the sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Just like my grandma used to make! One time I did not have any sour cream on hand so I used fat free plain yogurt and you couldn't tell the difference. This one is always a great hit for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Was so easy to make and so good - I have different weights here so I had to guess but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My mom made this every Christmas,and it was always a hit. I recently took it to a potluck picnic (I mean a HUGE bowl of it) and the bowl was all but licked clean. Always a safe bet when you're not sure what to take. On a side note, when I make it for my family, I use Tofutti (non-dairy) sour cream and leave out the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
love it love it love it could eat the whole bowl myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I have been making this recipe since I was first married 20 years ago! It is awesome just the way it is written. It's best if you make it a day ahead though. Make sure to drain the friut very well so there is no runny stuff in the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States