Grandma's Favorite Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this recipe using butternut squash, sweet potatoes, carrots and potatoes. I sprinkled with basil and Italian seasoning, and spread butter on the chicken legs. I also used one cup of chicken broth. I baked it at 350, covered, for 90 minutes, then turned the oven off and left the dish in the oven with the lid off for another 30 minutes. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the veggies were wonderful. I will be making this dish frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
While visiting my daughter the day before they left for a trip, I did a little bit of refrigerator and veggie basket cleaning, and used this recipe for the general makings of a great dish. I used 5 chicken breasts (skin on & bones in), about a pound of redskin potatoes, one large sweet potato, a green pepper, about half a pound of carrots, one large leek, and one small head of savoy cabbage. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, and Italian seasoning. I was hesitant to add plain old water, but I added the half inch as directed. After the initial hour in the oven covered with foil, it was pretty juicy, but as directed I took off the foil and baked for another half hour. After that time, the liquid reduced to a perfect amount, and it was really delicious. I would definitely use this method again and do some more experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Hearty... But kinda blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't use squash. I put potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, onion and lots of garlic. I seasoned the chicken with garlic, salt and pepper spice and put italian seasoning and basil in. It was okay but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and love it. Its so versatile because you can add as much as you like or omit what you dislike. We like it a bit on the hot side so I add some jarred hot pepper slices to give it a little kick, and some italian seasonings (oregano and basil). The juice is so good for dipping your bread into, and I don't even use the chicken stock (as some reviewers suggested) because we have to watch our sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was great! I used whatever veggies i had on hand and used broth instead of water like others suggested. I also made a rub with my fav spices since we like our meat well seasoned. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because it would be very bland with water. I used chicken broth. This is a very plain dish and perfect for my hubby who does not like "fancy stuff" Next time I make it I will try adding Cajun seasoning to give it some zio. I was out when I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Wow, so easy and so good; Put it in the oven and forget about it, your complete meal is ready when it's done. I didn't use potatoes as we had left over rice to have as a side; also did not use the squash as I didn't have any on hand, but added a couple stalks of chopped celery and a package of small whole mushrooms. Used 1/2 can of ready to serve cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 can of water; there was plenty of liquid. Baked for 1 1/2 hours all together. 15 minutes uncovered. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I cooked it as directed, however, I did have to cook it for about 2 hours instead of one just so the carrots would be tender. I also served it with rice. it was excellent! thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
what an amazing recipe! I kept hte garlic gloves whole and hey were delicious. I used yellow flesh potatos and did not add squash. I served this with tazyki sauce on the side and it was a HUGE hit! So easy to make and clean up. Love this!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allybaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States