Grandma's Farmhouse Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I used the brine as is and even let it soak a few hours longer than the recommended time due to family schedules, etc... and it still turned out to be a family favorite. Very moist and tasty - the best turkey ever, my family proclaimed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Absolutely delicious. I didn't have a pot large enough to boil all the ingredients so just mixed them and put into a brining bag. Turned out yummy. Will try the boiling step next time though. Also, I would recommend brining over 2 days. While I didn't, the side of the turkey in the brine was delicious and the other side wasn't as flavorful. Two days will give each side enough time to marinate. Definitely a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My turkey turned out extra juicy! My complaint is that the poultry seasoning was too much.I would recommend cutting the poultry seasoning back to one tablespoon. I think it would still taste great without the weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I've used this brine the last two years, the only thing different, is I use chicken broth instead of vegetable. Even my 88 year old grandmother said it was the best turkey she ever had!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
everyone loved the turkey made with grandmas farmhouse brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mymenue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Everyone loved it! It was so juicy and flavorful. I have to admit that I was abit nervous about adding so much salt. But to my delight, it was the best tasting turkey ever. Prior to baking the bird, I took the time to wash the inner/ exterior of the turkey. Lastly, I made a mixture of olive oil with more spices/ herbs(savory, rosemary and thyme) and lathered it on the bird. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
For the past three years I have used this recipe and LOVED it! The only thing I had to changed was the amount. Brine was not enough for my twenty five pound turkey so I added more water,cranberry juice, stock and poultry seasoning. And yes it does cook faster! Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used this brine recipe last year for Thanksgiving. I have never received as many compliments on a Turkey as I did when I used this recipe. It has now become a yearly tradition and I will not make a turkey any other way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Came out great using this recipe! Juicy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This brine helped produce the moistest turkey I've ever eaten. I did rinse my turkey before roasting. I stuffed the cavity with celery tops and fresh herbs, then rubbed the skin with a bit of canola oil and sprinkled on freshly ground black pepper. Temperature-wise, my turkey tested done long before I expected it to. I chose to roast it minutes longer and it was still moist, juicy, and perfectly roasted. I did find a few bites of meat to be a bit on the salty side, but no one else seemed to notice. I might cut back on the salt the next time as I feel there was more than enough. This is not a pretty brine - it's a murky brownish color. The finished bird is much more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States