Grandma's Farmhouse Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Absolutely fabulous... do you remember your Grandma or Mom's turkey dinners? They were scrumptious but usually a little on the dry side until Grandma began brining. Beautifully moist and tender while maintaining those traditional flavours where turkey tastes like turkey rather than a bird with a foreign taste which can happen with some brine recipes. The gravy is so tasty but be careful with the salt as the brine has done that for you. If you save the carcass and use it later for soups or stews, the flavours are tremendous as well because when you brine, it penetrates the bones right through. If you try it once, it will become a must do every time you roast a turkey. Yummmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was my first turkey and I knew my best chance of it being great was to brine it. It turned out perfectly! So juicy, I'm definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I had very high hopes for this recipe because the brine smelled ridiculously good. It smelled like thanksgiving the day before thanksgiving. However, i don't think any of the actual seasonings penetrated the flesh at all. It just tasted like turkey, not a brined turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Add fressh herbs - rosemary, thyme & tarragan. Tie them together and boil it in the half water, half chicken broth. Add Copped garlic and poutry seasoning. Add 2 cups of sugar along with the salt makes it even juicier. After brining pat dry & inject melted butter and copped tarragan throughout meat than bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Love this recipe. I have used it for several years now. My family insists that I used this brine when cooking Thanksgiving and Christmas turkeys. It is easy, inexpensive and definitely makes the turkey more moist, flavorful and delicious. I especially love the gravy that it makes...sorta salty, but I love salty things. I follow the recipe exactly, but sometimes I use chicken stock/broth instead of vegetable if it is what I have on-hand or is less expensive. Also, I always double the recipe to ensure that there is enough to cover the turkey. I use a new 5-gallon bucket to brine the turkey. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wb43113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I am looking forward to using this again this year. Tried it last year. It was great. My husband said the white meat was the juiciest he had ever had in his life. And he's had alot of turkey dinners!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was the juciest turkey that I have ever had...simply amazing. Careful with your pan drippings, though, as they are VERY salty and could ruin your gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Just wanted to say that this is the best brine I have ever used! I tried this year and everyone could not stop talking about how good this was. I had a 25 lb turkey, had to feed 15 people and I had put my turkey in a cooler filled with ice and I had to add more water to cover the turkey but it still worked. Cooked my turkey the Michiganer way as I always do and what a moist, tender, juicy, great tasting turkey. Thank you very much for this recipe. Will be my traditional recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
excellent brine. I didn't change a thing - except I added more water to cover the turkey. We grilled the turkey and it was done so much faster than a non-brined turkey - so watch out for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This brine helped produce the moistest turkey I've ever eaten. I did rinse my turkey before roasting. I stuffed the cavity with celery tops and fresh herbs, then rubbed the skin with a bit of canola oil and sprinkled on freshly ground black pepper. Temperature-wise, my turkey tested done long before I expected it to. I chose to roast it minutes longer and it was still moist, juicy, and perfectly roasted. I did find a few bites of meat to be a bit on the salty side, but no one else seemed to notice. I might cut back on the salt the next time as I feel there was more than enough. This is not a pretty brine - it's a murky brownish color. The finished bird is much more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States