Grandma's Farmhouse Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is wonderful! So easy and just the right amount of spices for me (not a big fan of Rosemary or thyme). I made a few substitutes because I didn't have exactly what I needed - used 2 quarts veg stock and 2 quarts chicken stock and cran-pomegranate juice. Wrote this one in my recipe book. It also made awesome gravy! Do not need added salt in the gravy - I used turkey broth instead of water and it was perfect. The turkey is extremely moist. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
this is so so so FABULOUS...we did this last year and from now on this is the only way for us to prep a turkey.....my family LOVES how the turkey is so tender, moist and just melt in your mouth wonderful.... the best recipe in my box hands down!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I used the brine as is and even let it soak a few hours longer than the recommended time due to family schedules, etc... and it still turned out to be a family favorite. Very moist and tasty - the best turkey ever, my family proclaimed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Shearman
Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Absolutely delicious. I didn't have a pot large enough to boil all the ingredients so just mixed them and put into a brining bag. Turned out yummy. Will try the boiling step next time though. Also, I would recommend brining over 2 days. While I didn't, the side of the turkey in the brine was delicious and the other side wasn't as flavorful. Two days will give each side enough time to marinate. Definitely a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My turkey turned out extra juicy! My complaint is that the poultry seasoning was too much.I would recommend cutting the poultry seasoning back to one tablespoon. I think it would still taste great without the weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I've used this brine the last two years, the only thing different, is I use chicken broth instead of vegetable. Even my 88 year old grandmother said it was the best turkey she ever had!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
everyone loved the turkey made with grandmas farmhouse brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mymenue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Everyone loved it! It was so juicy and flavorful. I have to admit that I was abit nervous about adding so much salt. But to my delight, it was the best tasting turkey ever. Prior to baking the bird, I took the time to wash the inner/ exterior of the turkey. Lastly, I made a mixture of olive oil with more spices/ herbs(savory, rosemary and thyme) and lathered it on the bird. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
For the past three years I have used this recipe and LOVED it! The only thing I had to changed was the amount. Brine was not enough for my twenty five pound turkey so I added more water,cranberry juice, stock and poultry seasoning. And yes it does cook faster! Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used this brine recipe last year for Thanksgiving. I have never received as many compliments on a Turkey as I did when I used this recipe. It has now become a yearly tradition and I will not make a turkey any other way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States