Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
i think its a good basis for salmon cake but I had problems without adding breadcrumbs maybe because my salmon was just cooked and warm. It is great quick way to get my kid to eat fish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Want to try something amazing? I had leftover fish after making 'Firecrackerr Grilled Alaska Salmon' recipe from this site, and used that in making these salmon cakes. Just a little greek plain yogurt on the side for light dipping and you're in heaven...... (disclosure: I did add the tiniest amt of panko crumbs, just because I love them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Good basic recipe. The 2nd time I made these, they came out even better by rolling the formed salmon cakes in panko and dusting with Old Bay seasoning. I also used fresh cooked salmon because I live in the Pacific Northwest and I'm super picky about my salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
excellent,used dehydrated onions and added a few drops of Tobasco prior to frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Like the other reviews stated, I liked the cakes well enough to try them again and expand upon the recipe more than I already did. I added bacon bits, like you would put on a salad, and twice the black pepper because they appeared to be bland; I also added enough Bob's Red Mill all purpose gluten-free flour to soak up a little of the egg which gave them a delightful little crunch. Next time I will include additional seasonings such as Tarragon as they were a little bland despite the flavor I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was a hit! I had to sub EVOO as that's what I had on hand, and pink Alaskan wild caught canned salmon. Nice and crispy. My 13 year old wants this as a 'regular'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have made these a few times now with various modifications and as is. Turn out great every time and my husband, who is from Denmark, says they taste just like mom's when he was little. Just like some other raters, I mince the onion, sometimes add a little bit of flour, sometimes a little bit of Old Bay spice. Fabulous and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hataxa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I had this canned salmon in the cupboard & had no idea what to do with it! I am a novice when cooking pretty much anything btw. I thought for sure this wasn't going to be too good b/c it seemed to easy... Well, it's delicious (i followed the recipe exactly for the first time) and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I used this recipe as a guideline for my Salmon Cakes, they turned out great. I added some additional seasoning mixing in some Parmesan cheese into the patty, and coating the outside of the patties with Italian breadcrumbs to give it a nice golden, crisp coating on each side. Then I fried them up on a griddle. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe is very close to what I make. I use the salmon pouches and add cracker crumbs.Top it with a dollop of horseradish sauce for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States