Grandma's English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I've been eyeing this for a while and so glad I finally tried it! Used the bread machine's dough cycle as recipe directed. I then divided the dough into six balls, dusted with cornmeal, then flattened a bit. Placed on greased and lightly cornnmealed sheets. Covered with lint-free towels and let rise ~45 min. (They really didn't rise much but they expand more while baking). Baked at 425 deg F oven for 8 min, then turned over and baked another 7 min. I could not wait until breakfast, so I just had a half with butter and jelly. Wonderful texture, crispy outside, softer inside, and better than store-bought! Who knew? Thank you Stephanie and your Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is a really awesome recipe. This was my first time making bread and it turned out so good. I don't have a bread machine so I hand mixed everything,and it still was delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this with out a bread maker. Mixed all the dry ingredients - except the yeast. Mixed the milk & water in a small bowl & put it in the micro for 2 minutes, put the yeast in & let that sit for about 10 minutes. Then put the yeast mixture in the dry ingredients & mixed it with a spoon & then with my hands. I covered it & let it rise for 1 hour. This dough was really fluffy. I do eventually want to try this in a coffee can, but I rolled it out & it made it 6 english muffins to my suprise & I made the rest of the dough into a loaf. Let everything rise some more while the oven pre heated. Put them in the oven at 400° for 8 minutes & flipped for 6 minutes. & well that was too much time for the muffins. I left the loaf in for 5 more minutes. These were really fluffy & I got the crevases in the bread, but it lacks the english muffin flavor. I have made the recipe called English Muffins countless times & although Ive never gotten the crevases, its got that good flavor of english muffins. I think I will try adding a bit of baking powder to my go to english muffin recipe & maybe get those crevases we're shooting for. I love the texture of these though. After making this recipe, I give them each a 4. & I dont have time to change the other review so Im giving a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this tonight to go with chicken noodle soup and it was fantastic and easy! I made mine in a 9x5 pan and it was perfect! The family loved it too so this will be a frequent staple in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is the sixth or seventh English Muffin recipe I've tried and I got Perfect results on my first try. These are Excellent! I rolled out the dough until it was an inch thick, cut out 8 3 inch wide muffins, reworked the leftover dough and put that into a small loaf pan. After they'd raised I put them in the oven for 8 minutes and then flipped them over and dropped the temp down to 375 for another 6 minutes. Don't turn them over before you cook them for 8 minutes otherwise you'll smoosh out the nooks and crannies. I don't have a bread machine so I mixed the dry ingredients, made a well in the middle and then mixed it all together. It was easy. These have the BEST flavor of any English Muffin's I've ever had. Next time I'll add cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Have made this many, many times always mixing with a stand mixer. I don't divide the dough as the loaves are too flat for our liking - use one 9x5 pan and bake until it's a light golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Hooray for Grandmas and their recipes! I was a bit unsure of ratio, knowing it takes 1 cup of liquid to 4 cups of flour, but this turned out perfect. Being summer and hot I decided to cook the bread in the machine. I set it 1 1/2 lb loaf, at medium darkness, and it turned out fantastic. I will have to find some round metal cans to make this more like traditional muffins. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
made the whole loaf in my bread machine set on medium size and medium crust. it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I stuffed the dough 2/3 the way up a can and it puffed up much higher when it was done raising/cooking. Next time I'll do just over half full. Other than figuring that out, it was really great. I loved the ease (I usually do regular ones...good but much more time-consuming.) and the flavor was really great. I had plenty of holes for my butter to melt into. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OMG! this is absoultly wonderful bread. The thing I did was to splenda sugar blend for the sugar. Turned out wonderful using the medium crust setting for a crunchy crust. Doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States