Grandma's English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very good recipe, but I baked for 10 minutes as the directions instructed, and It would have been mush had I not put it back in the oven. Probably baked more like 25 minutes. Very English muffin like. I think the trick is to avoid working the dough as it was full of air pockets and very light once it came out of the bread maker. Also allowing it to rise (turn the oven on and place over the vent burner) is very important to avoid having a dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is *wonderful*. I make English muffins with it by cutting into six pieces, making balls of dough, then slightly flattening them on top. FANTASTIC. I cannot have pre-made English muffins due to allergies, so this was doubley-good for me - it's been ages since I had an English muffin!!! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Taste is great, will make again. More of a batter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I have a question, not a rating... what if one does not have a bread machine? Then what? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
i will never buy english muffins again. my son and i ate some fresh out of the oven. thanks grandma. has anyone replaced some of the white flour with whole wheat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wright City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This recipe was easy and OH! SO GOOD!... I used rice milk in mine due to dd's dairy allergy and it came out fine. Next time I'm going to try it in a coffee can. We loved it with butter and honey as suggested in other reviews. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I used this recipe as it had rated highly and I needed an English Muffin that could be made in a bread machine - too lazy to knead by hand! I cooked them as instructed for Traditional English Muffins. I'm really pleased how much like the real thing they look and taste. Much easier than I expected, I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is so great. My wife and I wanted to eat it all as soon as it came out. I took the advice of other reviews and used two 11.5oz coffee tins to make round muffins. Two of them worked perfect although we had to let them cook a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
What a yummy recipe! A little sidenote (totally user error!): I baked mine in two coffee cans, but didn't pay attention to the fact that the cans had "lips" at the top, so, I couldn't get the bread out. I had to cut it and make a mess. Guess I'll have to look for a better can! I also tried this with wheat flour, and it didn't turn out as well. I will never buy store bought muffins again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNN ANNE
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Made mine in a can, posted photo for folks who can't visualize how your sample photo slices are round from bread :). Used plain soymilk plus extra 1/2 tsp sugar in lieu of the milk to make this a pareve/non-dairy bread. perfect! Super light crust slid right out of the can after baking, sliced beautifully after cooling and toasted up JUST perfectly. I'm in love!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States