Grandma's English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OMG! this is absoultly wonderful bread. The thing I did was to splenda sugar blend for the sugar. Turned out wonderful using the medium crust setting for a crunchy crust. Doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I don't know what happened. We don't have a bread machine so I kneaded the dough by hand. It's so heavy to the touch and so hard to shape. I halved the recipe so I could just shape it into a log or a loaf. I was thinking that I'd slice it after I bake it so I can toast it. The dough didn't rise, after I waited for an hour. So I just baked it. After baking, the top looks like a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa City, Laguna, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Easy and good. Will definitely be making again, but next time will let it rise a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent! I made them as regular loaves because I didn't have cans... but they were great - everyone LOVED them. I had to stop the family from eating it all before tomorrow morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are ab fab.....family won't eat store bought anymore!! And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made this twice- the first time was with the two pans, although they were the same size. The bread was SO good toasted! I wanted to try it again using just my bread machine. The bread fell. I will try adjusting the recipe so it works in just the bread machine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe except for replacing 1 1/2 cup flour with Whole White Wheat Flour which I normally do for all my bread recipes without any problems. I mixed it with my BM, then baked in oven. It turned out very heavy and did not rise alot and was more like french bread than english muffin bread. I will give it another try and see if it is any different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jblhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this bread in the bread machine, spritzed it with a little bit of olive oil mist, rolled it in cornmeal and baked at 350. It didn't seem to turn golden brown. The bread was denser than I'd like, no nooks and crannies and I didn't think it had any of the flavor of English Muffins. It wasn't at all sour. The loaf was very nice, toasted nicely and was quickly gobbled up. I have no idea what or why I should divide it into two unequal parts, so I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is the best bread ever! It disappears before I have time to slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am not sure what I did wrong, but mine didnt rise at all. It tastes fantastic, but it is really flat and dense. I made the dough in a bread machine, so I wonder if that might have been the problem. I'd love any suggestions on what I did wrong. It still is excellent! I am determined to figure out what happened to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States