Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I'm NOT a chocolate cake lover BUT needed cupcakes for an egg-allergic child. Tweaked the recipe by adding 1/2 teaspoon of salt and using 1 TABLESPOON vanilla. Couldn't have been easier to make ... great texture, good flavor. Makes 30 nicely rounded cupcakes ... fill paper liners at least 3/4 full and bake for 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Hello, after reading the reviews in which the cake was described as "tasteless", I read the recipe again and noticed there is no salt in the recipe. I have made many cakes and most have included some salt. This may be one reason why it lacks flavour. Salt brings out the flavour of chocolate. Try adding about 1/4 tsp and see if it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have been using this recipe for years for my egg and nut allergic Daughter. It is super easy, very rich and tastes wonderful. It is the best cake that I have been able to find in 8 years. My Daughter feels like any other kid at a birthday party. and no one will ever know this is for a nut and egg allergic child. It is fluffy and moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I made this cake for my lactose intolerant husband. When he tasted it he wanted to know what i put in it. I didn't tell him, but i did tell him what i didn't put in it. I think next time i will add chocolate chips to make it a little more chocolatey. I thought this was very easy and very moist. It was very surprising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
THIS IS ONE HELLUVA RECIPIE! I'm thoroughly excited that this really worked. Like many, i had my doubts, i mean, vinger? well this is definitely better than the previous high fat high calorie batch of cakes i made. ITs super moist and chocolatey. Here is a tip: I replaced water with chocolate soy milk, was very generous with the baking soda and powder( i put heaped teaspoons) and put in about 6 teaspoons of vanilla essence, put in about 8 HEAPED TABLESPOONS of coco powder ( i used hershey's) and used olive oil. PLUS i also added abit more sugar, maybe a 1/4 cup more? I also added the salt as recommanded by another reviewer. I made them into cupcakes and it rose beautifully. Also, don't forget to sift the flours together. It tasted great before icing and after icing(got it off the back of hershey's tin, used olive oil and chocolate soy milk again as replacements)them, i stuck them in the fridge and it was fanstastic! my friends are impressed and they can't believe its low fat! I will definitely make this more often. Am thinking of adding hazelnuts the next time. Thanks for this recipie! Means alot to a recently diagnosed lactose intolerant chocoholic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I had to make cupcakes for my sons birthday to take to school. As there is a boy there allergic to dairy and eggs I made this recipe for all the kids so he didn't feel left out. I was a bit worried about making a cake with no egg or dairy but it turned out beautifully. I followed others advice to substitute half sugar with brown sugar and added a little salt. I let them cool in the tins and they were so moist. I had to let them cook for longer then the recipe said though. I iced them with the icing off the anaphalaxis website like someone else suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I have had this recipe in my recipe box for years and have used it many many times. Everyone who tries it asks for the recipe. I do have a couple of suggestions though, the cake needs to bake for about 45 minutes and after it cools add the powdered sugar, but here's the winner, add apple pie filling to the plate when serving (as a side), if you put it on the cake like a topping, it won't keep and the cake gets mushy, but if you add it to the side when serving it adds the right bit of moisture and sweetness! Thanks to this recipe, my food allergic daughter was able to enjoy cake on her birthday like any other kid. Another note, don't put it on your dining room table to cool, dogs like it too. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My son has a true dairy allergy so I made this cake for his first birthday while we had bought a bakery cake for the guests...well the guests preferred this cake over the bakery cake. I paired it with soy milk/soy butter buttercream frosting....DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was the recipe that our baker used for our wedding cake. It was absolutely delicious and everyone was simply amazed that it was egg and dairy free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Made this for my dairy and egg allergic son's second birthday and everyone raved!! I used a shortning/confectionary sugar/vanilla frosting. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States