Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe. Tweeked it a little though. No chocolate,substituted diet cherry soda in place of water, splenda instead of sugar. Added dried cranberries and 2 tbsp of brown sugar as well as a 1/2 tsp salt. It turned out delicious. My kids and grandkids had no idea about the cake they just kept coming for more. This made a great breakfast bar. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turned out quite nicely, though not as moist and crumbly-looking as in the photo - and went well with Duncan Hines vanilla frosting. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I needed a recipe to bring to Playcentre for the children, some have intolerance to eggs and milk, so this recipe was great. Very easy to make with children too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Okay, the texture and moisture of this cake was great, but, there was NO TASTE at all!! The only way that this cake was even palatable was when it was smothered in butter cream :( I definitely don't recommend this if you are not allergic to eggs or dairy. The only reason I made this was because I was out of eggs and butter. Overall, it was not a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is a great chocolate cake. I usually don't frost my cakes because of concerns for calories, but with this cake I can without feeling guilty. The cake its self is very moist. I cut this recipe in half to bake in a square 8x8 pan. I also used half brown sugar (other half white sugar), added some salt, put one table spoon more cocoa powder, and I sprinkled mini chocolate chips over the batter to give the cake a crust since it is so moist. For such a low fat cake it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
a very simple recipe but a little tasteless. need to add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
LOVE this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I had to take a cake to a nut free-dairy free house and thought I'd make this one up and it was delicious. It was very moist - the only variation I made was per some other reviews and I added about a 1/2 tspn of salt and used heaping teaspoons of cocoa - even still it could have used a bit more cocoa. I used cake release and flipped the cake onto a cookie sheet and iced it with a Betty Crocker dairy free whipped icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I just added a big pinch of salt to bring out the chocolate. Was a great hit -people could not believe it was egg less and milk less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just made this cake, really, an hour ago and it's nearly gone already. I added more flavor (lemon and almnnd) and crushed nauts. The fam went CRAZY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States