Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This cake was good. It didn't really taste like anything was missing. The texture was almost the same as any box cake you can find. I used this as a cake for little girl whose birthday cake I had to make. She's allergic to eggs, and milk products so this was perfect. I had some trouble getting it to release from the pan so that I could decorate it. I baked it again though and used parchment paper as a liner and had no issues the second time. Everyone loved the cake and raved about it! I used a traditional buttercream icing to decorate it. This was the little girl's first time tasting cake (6th birthday) and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeDiva1913

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My son is allergic to all dairy and eggs so desserts are a huge challenge for him. On his birthday I made this cake and everybody loved it. More then that it was the first time in 7 years he had a chocolate cake and didn't start having breathing problems. He said it was the best birthday present ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Was dying for something chocolate, but since I can't have any dairy, looked up and found this cake and made it, following the hints and ideas added for this recipe and added cinnamon to the sprayed pan instead of flour.. more flavor.. came out excellent Hubby likes it too, he had cool whip, I had confection sugar on mine. When I am in the mood will make a frosting for it..am thinking the cinnabons frosting..YUM! Most flavorful. Thank You for the recipes and all the hints..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRONGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Eggless, butterless, milkless, and TASTELESS. Very moist. This wasn't done in the middle though even after baking for 35 minutes. It rose up nicely and looked decent, but had no flavor. We only ate a couple of bites. Even my hungry teen didn't like this. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wow-I was surprised at how good this was. I made this just because I was out of eggs, but now I'll make it again cause it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
What gives this cake flavor is the SALT, which this recipe omits, vinegar, and of course the chocolate. I actually have this recipe from a vegan cookbook and the differences are: 8 TBSP Cocoa instead of 6; 3tsp Vanilla instead of 2; and 1 full tsp of salt! I love the recipe I already have and think I will stick with it, but this one is good as well and would be particularly useful for those who are also watching their salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
a good staple recipe - i had both eggs & butter in the house but when you bake a lot, they go fast! it was nice to not have to use some. i replaced the oil with applesauce & realized at the last minute that i was out of baking soda, so i tossed in another 2 tsp of baking powder. the cake turned out good - heavy & moist although i think next time i will add extra vanilla or another extract - the flavor was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Fitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
It's ok... My cake came out wonderful, but a bit lack of taste. I think I prefer cake with egg and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I took the advice of some other people to add salt. It was delicious!!! I also added a full tablespoon of vanilla. Very moist and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
great recipe, easy to make and bake!!!! =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States