Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I hope I did something wrong (not sure what it was). This cake was dry, NOT chocolaty, and had a distinct baking soda after taste. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I'm always looking for good dairy free recipes that don't use hydrogenated fats. This is a very moist, dense cake with great chocolate flavor. After reading the reviews, I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and increased the cocoa to a full 1/2 cup. I baked it for 30 minutes, and it still was almost too moist... next time I will try baking a little longer (or maybe reduce the liquid a bit?). I'm still giving it 5 stars though, because my husband and daughter raved over it, and I thought it was pretty darn delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. My efforts and time waste on this cake.I am surprise to see positive reviews and yes I added all good quality material even then it was tasteless.I added more cocoa powder and pinch of salt and more sugar based on other's recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My mum and I have been making this cake for years, it's my favourite, but we always double the cocoa.. i think I use a 1/4 cup. Also try adding cherries or crystalised ginger, marshmallows or choc chips, coffee instead of water, all these variations work well and I'm sure you could come up with more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janebabes
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I made this b/c I was looking to try a cake from scratch as I've never made one before. When I saw that it was safe for my sister (egg allergy), my niece (milk allergy), and my husband (nut allergy), I was sold. The cake came out moist and chocolatey. I did add the salt, as others suggested, and I think I added a bit more cocoa powder than called for, but I think it came out wonderfully. Even my brother-in-law who hates cakes from scratch loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janebabes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe! I took advice from other comments and added about 1/2 tsp salt and used slightly heaping spoons of cocoa. baking powder/soda. I had vanilla sugar I used too. It makes an amazingly moist rich cake eaten right from the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamuggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I have tried so many desert recipes for my daughter that is egg allergic that end up anything but resembling a cake, brownie, etc. This recipe is just like real chocolate cake! It is wonderful. I made the recipe into 22 cupcakes and baked them for 24 minutes. I copied others suggestions and did half regular sugar with half brown sugar, 8tbs cocoa powder, 1tbs vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp salt, several handfuls of chocolate chips and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I cooked it in my stonewear muffin pan and they came out beautifully. I stuck a chocolate chip in the top of each right as I took them out of the oven and sprinkled with powdered sugar right before serving. All the kids loved them. No one would ever know there were no eggs in them. What a great recipe! I am so thankful to have finally found an egg free recipe that not only has the right texture but tastes great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe turned out great & tastes wonderful! I wasn't sure how it would turn out but didn't have many choices since my daughter is allergic to both eggs & milk. I was pleasantly surprised! We've made this several times both as a cake & as cupcakes. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARALVDP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This cake was good. It didn't really taste like anything was missing. The texture was almost the same as any box cake you can find. I used this as a cake for little girl whose birthday cake I had to make. She's allergic to eggs, and milk products so this was perfect. I had some trouble getting it to release from the pan so that I could decorate it. I baked it again though and used parchment paper as a liner and had no issues the second time. Everyone loved the cake and raved about it! I used a traditional buttercream icing to decorate it. This was the little girl's first time tasting cake (6th birthday) and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeDiva1913

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My son is allergic to all dairy and eggs so desserts are a huge challenge for him. On his birthday I made this cake and everybody loved it. More then that it was the first time in 7 years he had a chocolate cake and didn't start having breathing problems. He said it was the best birthday present ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States