Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe as I'm staying away from dairy. The only changes I made was using molasses and dates to sweeten because I don't use sugar. The other thing I did: Added 1 cup of pecans 1/2 cup of coconut flakes 1/4 cup of raisins (helped with sweetness) I was able to make 12 cup cakes and a small cake with the recipe. Thanks! it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparklfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Wow! This was a super recipe that really surprised me. I did add salt, substituted chocolate almond milk for the water, used 8 TBSP of caco powder instead of 6 and used applesauce instead of oil...superb recipe! Very moist, firm cake. Baked nearly 40 minutes rather than 20-25. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I needed to make a cake for my bestfriend for Valentine's. He is allergic to milk so when I came across this recipe.. I was ecstatic!!!! IT CAME OUT SOOOO GREAT!!!! ..moist and chocolatey :) he loved it and my family loved it as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent!! So moist and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe creates a moist, chocolatey cake with a great brownie-like flavor if you increase the cocoa powder to 8T, vanilla to 1T, and add 1/2t of salt as suggested by other reviewers. I added fudge-flavored store bought frosting (no milk or eggs listed in ingredients) and made cupcakes that were a hit at my daughters 5th bday party and preferred over the store bought cupcakes! My daughter actually liked them better sans frosting! Excellent recipe and highly recommended by our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I really did not like this cake and I do not recommend it. I baked it for my friend who has allergies and... was very dissapointed. The cake is not very flavorful and has a strange aftertaste. I have tried lactose and egg free cakes before so I know that there really yummy recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Deveaux-Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie Malone
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a good chocolate cake recipe! Very simple and moist. I followed it almost to a tee, but add another teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup of chocolate chips and half a cup of peppermint chips. Think I shall not add the peppermint chips next time, but this would taste excellent at Christmas with some chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream. This one is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Malone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Wonderful! Who would EVER think -less cake was so tasty & moist! I did modify the recipe a bit based on previous reviews to the following: split the sugar between white and brown (1 cup each), 3 teaspoons of vanilla, and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. Made cupcakes with the batter filling liners 2/3 full and bake for 15 min, let cool in muffin pan for 2 min then move to cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this cake today and am totally impressed. For a cake with no eggs or dairy, this was excellent! It's a very deep dark chocolate color, too, which I like. I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. I also used coffee instead of plain hot water as it enhances the chocolate flavor. Oh, I left out the baking powder too as I didn't have any; it rose nicely anyway! Nice to know that I can still make a great layer cake when I don't have eggs in the house! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It is tasteless...nothing moist about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States