Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe! Took it to a picnic where there were kids with food allergies, and was a hit! I did add salt, roughly a teaspoon, and added chocolate chips. I also found that the pan will need more than a casual spray to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
made this as cupcakes for my food allergic son, he LOVED them! I keep them frozen so I always have a treat for him at birthday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
As a child I had this growing up because my Mom learned to make it and it was a cheap cake to make. My mom would let my sister and I help and it always was moist and yummy! I first had this cake at my 4th birthday party! The comments on the salt is very important to the recipe because as another reviewer stated it sets off the chocolate and adds flavor to the cake. It also helps the cake not rise too much with the activation of the baking soda and vinegar. My mom always just mixed the dry ingredients together then made 3 wells and put the oil, vinegar and vanilla in them then pour the water over all of it and mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I cut the sugar down because it's just too sweet but this is definitely a keeper in our family. Great chocolate taste and moist too. Easy to make and great for all those who have allergies to nuts and eggs... even great when money is tight and eggs are a luxury....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Awesome cakes and cupcakes came out of this one. Everyone loved it =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XxDaRK
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe. Has never failed me! I often make these as cupcakes and my advice would be to leave them for a few hours or overnight as the flavour improves greatly. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe as I'm staying away from dairy. The only changes I made was using molasses and dates to sweeten because I don't use sugar. The other thing I did: Added 1 cup of pecans 1/2 cup of coconut flakes 1/4 cup of raisins (helped with sweetness) I was able to make 12 cup cakes and a small cake with the recipe. Thanks! it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparklfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Wow! This was a super recipe that really surprised me. I did add salt, substituted chocolate almond milk for the water, used 8 TBSP of caco powder instead of 6 and used applesauce instead of oil...superb recipe! Very moist, firm cake. Baked nearly 40 minutes rather than 20-25. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I needed to make a cake for my bestfriend for Valentine's. He is allergic to milk so when I came across this recipe.. I was ecstatic!!!! IT CAME OUT SOOOO GREAT!!!! ..moist and chocolatey :) he loved it and my family loved it as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States