Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I just added a big pinch of salt to bring out the chocolate. Was a great hit -people could not believe it was egg less and milk less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just made this cake, really, an hour ago and it's nearly gone already. I added more flavor (lemon and almnnd) and crushed nauts. The fam went CRAZY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Grandma is a genious! This cake is amazing! Its moist and gets better with time. For a dairy intolerant person this really is a welcomed addition to the list of tolerable treats. I followed the recipe exactly - turned out great. May add 1/2 tsp of salt next time like the others have - just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I love this cake and I dont have any allergies to eggs or anything like that. I was pleasantly surprised thats for sure. I didnt have unsweetened cocoa and I did add salt and it was beautiful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I used milk instead of water (I just had no eggs) and baked 12 muffins and a small rectangular cake. The cake is surprisingly moist. With the price of eggs these days, this will surely be my go-to recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I am fasting for 40 days Greek Orthodox Easter (as I do every year) and the traditional cake recipes for this time of year are very heavy and outdated. So I gave this a try. What a surprise! Chocolate! It is perfectly rich tasting super moist and satisfying. Did not change a thing except add 1 teaspoon of salt. Baking time in my bunt form took 45 minutes. This weekend I will be making it again for the Girl Scouts in cup cakes' version. This is already kept this in my cherished recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great recipe! There are no dairy allergies in our house, but my boyfriend has having a "cake emergency" the other night and decided he couldn't live without dessert. We were out of butter, and everything I usually use in place of it (margarine, crisco, applesauce) so I needed something like this. I took some advise of other reviewers and added 1 teaspoon salt, and did half brown sugar, half white. We loved the results. Moist, chocolatey, and you would never know it's dairy free. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. You can also replace the 2 cups of water with 2 cups of freshly squeezed orange juice. Instead of the chocolate powder add around 1 to 2 teaspoons of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have nieces and nephews w/severe dairy allergies and a handufl of vegan friends. The instructions were simple. It was plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Ridiculously moist, very easy to put together in a pinch, and great for people with allergies. For people who are used to the depth of flavor present when eggs and milk and butter are used, you won't find them here, so expect an altogether different flavor of cake. I made 24 cupcakes and a teddy bear silicone cake (would fit a 9x9 pan) in very little time. Cupcakes took 15 minutes for me. Bear took 25. Toothpick it if you're not sure. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States