Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I had to take a cake to a nut free-dairy free house and thought I'd make this one up and it was delicious. It was very moist - the only variation I made was per some other reviews and I added about a 1/2 tspn of salt and used heaping teaspoons of cocoa - even still it could have used a bit more cocoa. I used cake release and flipped the cake onto a cookie sheet and iced it with a Betty Crocker dairy free whipped icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I just added a big pinch of salt to bring out the chocolate. Was a great hit -people could not believe it was egg less and milk less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just made this cake, really, an hour ago and it's nearly gone already. I added more flavor (lemon and almnnd) and crushed nauts. The fam went CRAZY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Grandma is a genious! This cake is amazing! Its moist and gets better with time. For a dairy intolerant person this really is a welcomed addition to the list of tolerable treats. I followed the recipe exactly - turned out great. May add 1/2 tsp of salt next time like the others have - just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I love this cake and I dont have any allergies to eggs or anything like that. I was pleasantly surprised thats for sure. I didnt have unsweetened cocoa and I did add salt and it was beautiful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I used milk instead of water (I just had no eggs) and baked 12 muffins and a small rectangular cake. The cake is surprisingly moist. With the price of eggs these days, this will surely be my go-to recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I am fasting for 40 days Greek Orthodox Easter (as I do every year) and the traditional cake recipes for this time of year are very heavy and outdated. So I gave this a try. What a surprise! Chocolate! It is perfectly rich tasting super moist and satisfying. Did not change a thing except add 1 teaspoon of salt. Baking time in my bunt form took 45 minutes. This weekend I will be making it again for the Girl Scouts in cup cakes' version. This is already kept this in my cherished recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great recipe! There are no dairy allergies in our house, but my boyfriend has having a "cake emergency" the other night and decided he couldn't live without dessert. We were out of butter, and everything I usually use in place of it (margarine, crisco, applesauce) so I needed something like this. I took some advise of other reviewers and added 1 teaspoon salt, and did half brown sugar, half white. We loved the results. Moist, chocolatey, and you would never know it's dairy free. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. You can also replace the 2 cups of water with 2 cups of freshly squeezed orange juice. Instead of the chocolate powder add around 1 to 2 teaspoons of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have nieces and nephews w/severe dairy allergies and a handufl of vegan friends. The instructions were simple. It was plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States