Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is a great chocolate cake. I usually don't frost my cakes because of concerns for calories, but with this cake I can without feeling guilty. The cake its self is very moist. I cut this recipe in half to bake in a square 8x8 pan. I also used half brown sugar (other half white sugar), added some salt, put one table spoon more cocoa powder, and I sprinkled mini chocolate chips over the batter to give the cake a crust since it is so moist. For such a low fat cake it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
a very simple recipe but a little tasteless. need to add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
LOVE this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I had to take a cake to a nut free-dairy free house and thought I'd make this one up and it was delicious. It was very moist - the only variation I made was per some other reviews and I added about a 1/2 tspn of salt and used heaping teaspoons of cocoa - even still it could have used a bit more cocoa. I used cake release and flipped the cake onto a cookie sheet and iced it with a Betty Crocker dairy free whipped icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent Recipe. I just added a big pinch of salt to bring out the chocolate. Was a great hit -people could not believe it was egg less and milk less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just made this cake, really, an hour ago and it's nearly gone already. I added more flavor (lemon and almnnd) and crushed nauts. The fam went CRAZY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Grandma is a genious! This cake is amazing! Its moist and gets better with time. For a dairy intolerant person this really is a welcomed addition to the list of tolerable treats. I followed the recipe exactly - turned out great. May add 1/2 tsp of salt next time like the others have - just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I love this cake and I dont have any allergies to eggs or anything like that. I was pleasantly surprised thats for sure. I didnt have unsweetened cocoa and I did add salt and it was beautiful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I used milk instead of water (I just had no eggs) and baked 12 muffins and a small rectangular cake. The cake is surprisingly moist. With the price of eggs these days, this will surely be my go-to recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I am fasting for 40 days Greek Orthodox Easter (as I do every year) and the traditional cake recipes for this time of year are very heavy and outdated. So I gave this a try. What a surprise! Chocolate! It is perfectly rich tasting super moist and satisfying. Did not change a thing except add 1 teaspoon of salt. Baking time in my bunt form took 45 minutes. This weekend I will be making it again for the Girl Scouts in cup cakes' version. This is already kept this in my cherished recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States