Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this cake the other night because I was in the mood to bake but didn't have any eggs in the fridge and was running low on milk. I didn't have cocoa powder either, so instead I made a spice cake using apple cider vinegar instead of distilled, and I added a teaspoon of salt, a teaspoon of cinnamon, a teaspoon of nutmeg, a half teaspoon of cloves, and a half teaspoon of ginger. The cake turned out delicious! I'm definitely keeping this recipe as I'm sure it can be varied again and again for different results. I think I might try substituting some of the water for black coffee sometime or maybe adding a little light molasses to a future spice cake and frosting it with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I had to make cupcakes for my sons birthday to take to school. As there is a boy there allergic to dairy and eggs I made this recipe for all the kids so he didn't feel left out. I was a bit worried about making a cake with no egg or dairy but it turned out beautifully. I followed others advice to substitute half sugar with brown sugar and added a little salt. I let them cool in the tins and they were so moist. I had to let them cook for longer then the recipe said though. I iced them with the icing off the anaphalaxis website like someone else suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This cake was alright for us. It definatlly has a different taste to it. My teenager loed it, but my hubby was on the fence. Next time I will try adding choc chips. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I was impressed with this recipe. I did not add the cocoa, as my son is also allergic to chocolate. I can't wait to make it for his next birthday, as he has never had a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
My nephew is allergic to both milk and eggs. I made both a chocolate and vanilla version for his birthday. It was so moist and really tasted incredible. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
One of my daycare children has an egg allergy so we used this recipe for birthday cupcakes today. I was pleasantly surprised how light and tasty they were. I might add a little more cocoa next time. I half recipe yielded 12 good sized cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My son has a true dairy allergy so I made this cake for his first birthday while we had bought a bakery cake for the guests...well the guests preferred this cake over the bakery cake. I paired it with soy milk/soy butter buttercream frosting....DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is very similar to a recipe I have for chocolate muffins but that one calls for apple juice for 1.5 cups of the water. I like to substitute an even richer juice -- cherry or blueberry are especially fantastic! -- to alter the taste. Also you can throw in chocolate chips if need be. But just like this -- no juice, no chips -- it makes for a great, easy snacking cake or snack muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips to the batter and a whole jar of icing on top. The cake without the icing really didn't have much flavour. My 5 year old daughter liked it and my husband put it in a bowl and flooded it with milk, he thought it was okay. I'm not sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
It was very useful. I'm not the kind that as a lot of supplies at home so, this was very helpful. I like it, and it is quite tastely, but you might want to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States