Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I had to make cupcakes for my sons birthday to take to school. As there is a boy there allergic to dairy and eggs I made this recipe for all the kids so he didn't feel left out. I was a bit worried about making a cake with no egg or dairy but it turned out beautifully. I followed others advice to substitute half sugar with brown sugar and added a little salt. I let them cool in the tins and they were so moist. I had to let them cook for longer then the recipe said though. I iced them with the icing off the anaphalaxis website like someone else suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This cake was alright for us. It definatlly has a different taste to it. My teenager loed it, but my hubby was on the fence. Next time I will try adding choc chips. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I was impressed with this recipe. I did not add the cocoa, as my son is also allergic to chocolate. I can't wait to make it for his next birthday, as he has never had a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
My nephew is allergic to both milk and eggs. I made both a chocolate and vanilla version for his birthday. It was so moist and really tasted incredible. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
One of my daycare children has an egg allergy so we used this recipe for birthday cupcakes today. I was pleasantly surprised how light and tasty they were. I might add a little more cocoa next time. I half recipe yielded 12 good sized cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My son has a true dairy allergy so I made this cake for his first birthday while we had bought a bakery cake for the guests...well the guests preferred this cake over the bakery cake. I paired it with soy milk/soy butter buttercream frosting....DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is very similar to a recipe I have for chocolate muffins but that one calls for apple juice for 1.5 cups of the water. I like to substitute an even richer juice -- cherry or blueberry are especially fantastic! -- to alter the taste. Also you can throw in chocolate chips if need be. But just like this -- no juice, no chips -- it makes for a great, easy snacking cake or snack muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips to the batter and a whole jar of icing on top. The cake without the icing really didn't have much flavour. My 5 year old daughter liked it and my husband put it in a bowl and flooded it with milk, he thought it was okay. I'm not sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
It was very useful. I'm not the kind that as a lot of supplies at home so, this was very helpful. I like it, and it is quite tastely, but you might want to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have been using this recipe for years for my egg and nut allergic Daughter. It is super easy, very rich and tastes wonderful. It is the best cake that I have been able to find in 8 years. My Daughter feels like any other kid at a birthday party. and no one will ever know this is for a nut and egg allergic child. It is fluffy and moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States