Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great cake! One of the moistest and best rising cakes I've made (not that I have the hugest repertoire in cakes though), but very surprising being dairy free - yummy, moist and looks good - I'm happy =>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Lovely, fluffy, not-too-sweet! Be sure to make this cake the day before you plan serve it, it's even moister and yummier on day 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a really great recipe! We are trying to cut way back on dairy in our family and so I was searching for dinner recipes and stumbled across this. Since my son's bday is next week, I thought I would try it out. We all loved it! Much better than a store bought or box cake mix. We dont even have food allergies, and I would still choose this cake recipe. I read all the previous reviews and like others suggested, I added 1 tsp salt and subbed 1/2 brown sugar. (I also like my chocolate cake pretty rich, so I threw in a handful of choc chips). One person suggested substituting juice for the water and so I tried that out too (subbed 1/2 apple grape juice for water) and I personally thought it made it slightly too flavorful/sweet. I will only use water next time. My cake wasn't done in the suggested cook time, though. It took 30 minutes. This cake has a great texture and is really moist. Doesn't need any icing. Powdered sugar on top is perfect. And it was such a simple recipe and I already had all the ingredients. I will definitely make it for the party (and future parties!). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Made this as part of my elimination diet, no one could tell it was any different than a regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
WOW no one knew it was eggless, milkless and butterless..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My kids LOVED this cake. I threw in some chocolate chips instead of icing it since a couple don't like icing. I'm making it today for my son's 7th birthday. It is great now that eggs, butter and milk are sky high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i did as some reviews said and cut down the vanilla and added a pinch of salt and nobody could believe it was eggless butterless and milkless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is sooo moist. It is not too sweet. I love this cake. I will make this again. It was from paper to coming out of oven in 1 hour. That is a fast cake and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe if you have someone with allergies to milk or eggs! I was pleasantly surprised at how well the cupcakes I made for my daughter to take to school for her birthday turned out! I really can't say enough about this recipe. I did add 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp almond extract. If you didn't tell anyone that it didn't have eggs, milk or butter in them, they would never know! The chocolate frosting I used is from the food allergy network website:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this cake the other night because I was in the mood to bake but didn't have any eggs in the fridge and was running low on milk. I didn't have cocoa powder either, so instead I made a spice cake using apple cider vinegar instead of distilled, and I added a teaspoon of salt, a teaspoon of cinnamon, a teaspoon of nutmeg, a half teaspoon of cloves, and a half teaspoon of ginger. The cake turned out delicious! I'm definitely keeping this recipe as I'm sure it can be varied again and again for different results. I think I might try substituting some of the water for black coffee sometime or maybe adding a little light molasses to a future spice cake and frosting it with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States