Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I have made this cake several times in the past month, and I love it every time! I've tried lots of different variations. This recipe is so versatile! I use applesauce in place of the oil and splenda for the sugar, and then I add grated 100% cocao chocolate into the batter (about 1/3 bar) and it is HEAVEN!!!! Especially for someone who can't have dairy! Who knew!? This is a must have in my house now! It's low fat (with the applesauce), low calorie (with the splenda), dairy free and egg free. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BACON BITS
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My family has always made this and called it Wacky Chocolate Cake because it lacks most normal ingredients! But It is a delicious cake and does not even need frosting, so it is fairly lower calorie than some other cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BACON BITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Great cake! It almost tasted like a "diet" cake... not enough chocolate taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great cake! One of the moistest and best rising cakes I've made (not that I have the hugest repertoire in cakes though), but very surprising being dairy free - yummy, moist and looks good - I'm happy =>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Lovely, fluffy, not-too-sweet! Be sure to make this cake the day before you plan serve it, it's even moister and yummier on day 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a really great recipe! We are trying to cut way back on dairy in our family and so I was searching for dinner recipes and stumbled across this. Since my son's bday is next week, I thought I would try it out. We all loved it! Much better than a store bought or box cake mix. We dont even have food allergies, and I would still choose this cake recipe. I read all the previous reviews and like others suggested, I added 1 tsp salt and subbed 1/2 brown sugar. (I also like my chocolate cake pretty rich, so I threw in a handful of choc chips). One person suggested substituting juice for the water and so I tried that out too (subbed 1/2 apple grape juice for water) and I personally thought it made it slightly too flavorful/sweet. I will only use water next time. My cake wasn't done in the suggested cook time, though. It took 30 minutes. This cake has a great texture and is really moist. Doesn't need any icing. Powdered sugar on top is perfect. And it was such a simple recipe and I already had all the ingredients. I will definitely make it for the party (and future parties!). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Made this as part of my elimination diet, no one could tell it was any different than a regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
WOW no one knew it was eggless, milkless and butterless..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My kids LOVED this cake. I threw in some chocolate chips instead of icing it since a couple don't like icing. I'm making it today for my son's 7th birthday. It is great now that eggs, butter and milk are sky high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i did as some reviews said and cut down the vanilla and added a pinch of salt and nobody could believe it was eggless butterless and milkless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States