Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was very good i made cupcakes they turn out great i use the wedding cake frosting very good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Soooooo good with vanilla ice cream (for those who aren't lactose intolerant). I baked it for my egg/peanut allergic son. I didn't think that such cakes could taste good. It was so moist and chocolaty. I cut back the sugar to 1.5C with 0.5C of brown and rest white. Added 1/2tsp salt and several handful of chocolate chips. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soo Sen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I needed to make a dairy-free dessert for a family and saw this cake. I had all of the ingredients on hand and baked it in my bunt pan for about 40 mins at 350. I turned out really nice and I simply dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Really good and moist, i used normal cocoa because i didnt have the baking variety, also a little cinnamon and vanilla extract. also used half brown sugar and half white. came out great and served with strawberries and topped with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I had to bake the cake for 40 minutes. I have no allergies, I was just curious about this cake. It turned out great. A great chocolate flavor without being too sweet. I did add a 1/4 tsp of salt as others suggested and used olive oil because it is the only oil I keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is excellent. You cannot even tell its eggless and dairy-less. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was just o.k.. It took longer to bake than directions indicated and now I understand why you NEED eggs, butter and milk to make a cake taste like a cake. If you have food allergies or on a saturated fat free diet, this would be better than no cake at all - I served it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and chocolate sauce so it was pretty good that way...Didn't really notice the Eggless, Butterless and Milkless Cake. My family rated it with the 3 stars for o.k. Only make it again if I'm out of eggs and craving cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishMtCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my one year old's birthday. He has egg and milk allergies. It turned out great! I made it twice, once as a 2 layer round cake and once as cupcakes. I made some modifications: I used 1 c granulated and 1 c brown sugar, added 1/2 t salt and 1/2 t cinnamon, and increased the cocoa to 1/2 c. Makes 24 cupcakes, bake for 20 minutes. I found store bought frosting that has no milk ingredients. Mentioning the brand might be a no-no (?) but it was cream cheese flavor, of all things. Read the labels carefully, and you might be pleasantly surprised like I was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This cake was interesting. If you know someone who can't have eggs or milk, then this cake would be perfect and probably very well-received. It did take longer to bake than stated -- baked in a 9x13 pan, I think it took 35-40 minutes. My knife came out clean, but when I went to slice this cake, I thought at first I hadn't cooked it enough, as it had a slightly odd texture. The changes I made were as mentioned by some other reviewers... I added two extra tablespoons of cocoa and 1/2 tsp. of salt. My son is allergic to milk and milk products, but not eggs. I made this cake for his birthday. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and made a raspberry sauce that we served over it. All the guests said it was good, but I think next time I will try a mayonnaise cake instead. My husband thought it was just OK. If you were desperate for chocolate cake and didn't have eggs, mayonnaise, milk or butter on hand, this would probably satisfy you quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipes is really good if you have run out of eggs and milk and still want some cake like I did... however, I fancied some lemon cake so I swapped the cocoa powder for some cornstarch and added some lemon flavouring. Somehow the batter turned out very runny and I ended up baking it for about an hour but the result is really good! It's very moist and hasn't lasted long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States