Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I had to bake the cake for 40 minutes. I have no allergies, I was just curious about this cake. It turned out great. A great chocolate flavor without being too sweet. I did add a 1/4 tsp of salt as others suggested and used olive oil because it is the only oil I keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is excellent. You cannot even tell its eggless and dairy-less. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was just o.k.. It took longer to bake than directions indicated and now I understand why you NEED eggs, butter and milk to make a cake taste like a cake. If you have food allergies or on a saturated fat free diet, this would be better than no cake at all - I served it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and chocolate sauce so it was pretty good that way...Didn't really notice the Eggless, Butterless and Milkless Cake. My family rated it with the 3 stars for o.k. Only make it again if I'm out of eggs and craving cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishMtCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my one year old's birthday. He has egg and milk allergies. It turned out great! I made it twice, once as a 2 layer round cake and once as cupcakes. I made some modifications: I used 1 c granulated and 1 c brown sugar, added 1/2 t salt and 1/2 t cinnamon, and increased the cocoa to 1/2 c. Makes 24 cupcakes, bake for 20 minutes. I found store bought frosting that has no milk ingredients. Mentioning the brand might be a no-no (?) but it was cream cheese flavor, of all things. Read the labels carefully, and you might be pleasantly surprised like I was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This cake was interesting. If you know someone who can't have eggs or milk, then this cake would be perfect and probably very well-received. It did take longer to bake than stated -- baked in a 9x13 pan, I think it took 35-40 minutes. My knife came out clean, but when I went to slice this cake, I thought at first I hadn't cooked it enough, as it had a slightly odd texture. The changes I made were as mentioned by some other reviewers... I added two extra tablespoons of cocoa and 1/2 tsp. of salt. My son is allergic to milk and milk products, but not eggs. I made this cake for his birthday. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and made a raspberry sauce that we served over it. All the guests said it was good, but I think next time I will try a mayonnaise cake instead. My husband thought it was just OK. If you were desperate for chocolate cake and didn't have eggs, mayonnaise, milk or butter on hand, this would probably satisfy you quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipes is really good if you have run out of eggs and milk and still want some cake like I did... however, I fancied some lemon cake so I swapped the cocoa powder for some cornstarch and added some lemon flavouring. Somehow the batter turned out very runny and I ended up baking it for about an hour but the result is really good! It's very moist and hasn't lasted long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I wanted to try something different and this seemed to fit the bill. Since I was baking for two I reduced the recipe with the handy tool and made out for 8 servings. I followed the recipe exactly and added semi-sweet choc chips- as suggested by many reviewers. It came out perfectly, looked delicious and smelled wonderful. When my husband and I tasted it had a bitter taste that kept getting stronger and stronger the more we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I have made this cake several times in the past month, and I love it every time! I've tried lots of different variations. This recipe is so versatile! I use applesauce in place of the oil and splenda for the sugar, and then I add grated 100% cocao chocolate into the batter (about 1/3 bar) and it is HEAVEN!!!! Especially for someone who can't have dairy! Who knew!? This is a must have in my house now! It's low fat (with the applesauce), low calorie (with the splenda), dairy free and egg free. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BACON BITS
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My family has always made this and called it Wacky Chocolate Cake because it lacks most normal ingredients! But It is a delicious cake and does not even need frosting, so it is fairly lower calorie than some other cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BACON BITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Great cake! It almost tasted like a "diet" cake... not enough chocolate taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States