Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I highly recommend this recipe for egg custard. I did not use pie crust, just put in ramecans and gave a water bath in oven. Very very good. My husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe. Oh, one more thing, first time I scaled the milk, but, theres a video on this now and it said you don't need to scald the milk I am going to try it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Very disappointed. This pie turned out terribly eggy and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Elmo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great recipe! I add a split vanilla bean when scalding the milk and replace about 2 tablespoons of the white sugar with brown sugar. Makes for a rich yummy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Perfect! I did not scald the milk and I poked the crust with a fork before the egg wash. Mine took 40 minutes to get done. Served with strawberry rhubarb sauce, it is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have been locking for a good custard pie recipe and this one turned out so good. It was easy to make and so very delicious. I highly recommend this recipe; It's a winner and everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My husband loved this pie and can't wait for the next one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I tried this pie and loved it. It tasted wonderful. I followed the directions except I added the yolk from the 4th egg into the pie mixture. Nest time I'm going to add some coconut and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this pie last night for our Bible study. It went over great! My husband and son love it! I baked it longer than what it stated on the recipe until it was done & placed a pie crust ring around the edge of the crust to keep it from burning. It turned out fine. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I give this 4 star for potential. I read some of the reviews and cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup which still seemed a tad sweet, added an extra egg, and used almond extract instead of vanilla (I used 1tsp but it was kind of strong so maybe next time 1/2 tsp just for the hint of it). I did not brush the egg white onto the crust. This took about 45 mins to bake at 375 (probably could've used another 5 mins), but it seemed to set ok after being overnight in the fridge. Will probably make this again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My pie looked like it was boiling even after 40 minutes (I let it stay in there 5 minutes longer). The filling doesn't look smooth either. This is the first time I baked something that came out like this. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States