Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Perfect! I did not scald the milk and I poked the crust with a fork before the egg wash. Mine took 40 minutes to get done. Served with strawberry rhubarb sauce, it is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have been locking for a good custard pie recipe and this one turned out so good. It was easy to make and so very delicious. I highly recommend this recipe; It's a winner and everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My husband loved this pie and can't wait for the next one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I tried this pie and loved it. It tasted wonderful. I followed the directions except I added the yolk from the 4th egg into the pie mixture. Nest time I'm going to add some coconut and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this pie last night for our Bible study. It went over great! My husband and son love it! I baked it longer than what it stated on the recipe until it was done & placed a pie crust ring around the edge of the crust to keep it from burning. It turned out fine. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I give this 4 star for potential. I read some of the reviews and cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup which still seemed a tad sweet, added an extra egg, and used almond extract instead of vanilla (I used 1tsp but it was kind of strong so maybe next time 1/2 tsp just for the hint of it). I did not brush the egg white onto the crust. This took about 45 mins to bake at 375 (probably could've used another 5 mins), but it seemed to set ok after being overnight in the fridge. Will probably make this again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My pie looked like it was boiling even after 40 minutes (I let it stay in there 5 minutes longer). The filling doesn't look smooth either. This is the first time I baked something that came out like this. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila McDaniel
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is an amazingly fantastic recipe! Easy and so yummy. I will be replacing my old one for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I use a deep pie crust shell because I too use the extra egg yolk then just roll down the extra crust to the top of the filling no spill over or thin burned crust tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I was craving custard pie my Godmother use to make. She never had a written recipe & this is 1 thing i never watced her make...I tried this recipe & loved it...i did use 1 can of evaporated milk along with whole milk & cut back on the vanilla & added fresh lemon juice(that's a Portuguese thing)...it was sooo delicious i hate to admit it but i ate the whole thing, not all at once of course!! Will make for my mom! She'll love it!! One more thing i didn't scald the milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States