Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is my mother in laws recipe that I have made for years with the exception of the scalded milk. I agree with one of the others it's not needed. I also don't use the spice. The one thing I do differently is I top with the egg whites after the pie is cooked it rounds out the finish of the pie. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Why is it so watery? Does it thicken when cooled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I'm sure this dish is succulent with extras, but on the day I made it, I did not have all the extras such as maybe toasted coconut flakes, caramel sauce, or whipped cream. We ate it just as is, and it was not sweet enough just by itself. For me a good dish is one that is delicious without extras, that did not fit my liking. The look and texture turn out to be perfect, but the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! I made one change: the egg white used to brush the crust plus the extra yolk went in the pie as well (for a total of just less than 4 eggs in my custard). I made this for my parents and they both absolutely loved it! They both said it tasted like what their grandmother's made. I'm making it again today (dyed green for St. Patrick's Day)! And for anyone who cuts corners and doesn't scald the milk--it's worth it. It doesn't need to be scaled for safety reasons, like one reviewer suggested. Scalding the milk changes the flavor and when that warm milk hits those eggs--the smell is just heavenly! That was the moment I knew I was making grandma's custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Minor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I hate rating this so low but after following this recipe to a tee, I ended up with an unset pie (more like soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Awesome! I tempered the eggs, subbed cream for some of the milk, and it was amazing. Hubby asked for this pie, and I found a recipe worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Okay a little eggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I had a 7" pastry tin, but instead of adjusting amounts just made 6 mini ones as well. Had some trouble trying to get them out. Are you meant to butter up the cases first? Cooked all the way through, but bottom of pastry was a little soggy, I did egg wash pastry first as directed. Maybe the mixture leaked a little. Very easy to make otherwise, the custard set beautifully and was delicious. Looked good enough to eat too. I love nutmeg so sprinkled little note on b4 putting into oven. Will try again though I'm aiming for perfection:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is a terrific recipe. I omitted the vanilla. Turned it into a pear custard pie by adding 2 medium pears, peeled and quartered. My friends raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Komet Being
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
LOL this recipe was a hit... thanks Grandma Marles! made 4 of the egg custard pies over Thanksgiving & Christmas... now have 2 more in the oven now & will post a pic... ok out of the oven looks a bit undone, but things harden up as they cool dang crust got too dark... gotta do this at a lower oven temp for more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet Being

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States