Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious. The filling was light, delicate, and not too sweet. It was silky and smooth in the middle. If you've ever had chinese egg tarts, it's a bit like that - in fact, I might miniaturize it into tiny tart tins to make pseudo egg tarts. I added the extra egg yolk from the egg white into the filling, and I did bake my shell by itself for about 10 minutes to make sure it would cook completely. I reduced the cooking temperature to 350 degrees to prevent the crust from burning (which was successful!), which meant I had to cook it for quite a bit longer. However, by checking on it every ten minutes and checking it with the jiggle test/clean knife test, it came out perfectly browned and not overcooked. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I don't think it's necessary to scald the milk. I also don't use the spice, and I top with the egg whites after the pie is cooked it rounds out the finish of the pie. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krum, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I'm sure this dish is succulent with extras, but on the day I made it, I did not have all the extras such as maybe toasted coconut flakes, caramel sauce, or whipped cream. We ate it just as is, and it was not sweet enough just by itself. For me a good dish is one that is delicious without extras, that did not fit my liking. The look and texture turn out to be perfect, but the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! I made one change: the egg white used to brush the crust plus the extra yolk went in the pie as well (for a total of just less than 4 eggs in my custard). I made this for my parents and they both absolutely loved it! They both said it tasted like what their grandmother's made. I'm making it again today (dyed green for St. Patrick's Day)! And for anyone who cuts corners and doesn't scald the milk--it's worth it. It doesn't need to be scaled for safety reasons, like one reviewer suggested. Scalding the milk changes the flavor and when that warm milk hits those eggs--the smell is just heavenly! That was the moment I knew I was making grandma's custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Minor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I hate rating this so low but after following this recipe to a tee, I ended up with an unset pie (more like soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Awesome! I tempered the eggs, subbed cream for some of the milk, and it was amazing. Hubby asked for this pie, and I found a recipe worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Okay a little eggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I had a 7" pastry tin, but instead of adjusting amounts just made 6 mini ones as well. Had some trouble trying to get them out. Are you meant to butter up the cases first? Cooked all the way through, but bottom of pastry was a little soggy, I did egg wash pastry first as directed. Maybe the mixture leaked a little. Very easy to make otherwise, the custard set beautifully and was delicious. Looked good enough to eat too. I love nutmeg so sprinkled little note on b4 putting into oven. Will try again though I'm aiming for perfection:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is a terrific recipe. I omitted the vanilla. Turned it into a pear custard pie by adding 2 medium pears, peeled and quartered. My friends raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Komet Being
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
LOL this recipe was a hit... thanks Grandma Marles! made 4 of the egg custard pies over Thanksgiving & Christmas... now have 2 more in the oven now & will post a pic... ok out of the oven looks a bit undone, but things harden up as they cool dang crust got too dark... gotta do this at a lower oven temp for more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet Being

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States