Grandma's Easy Turkey Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
We really liked this. You didn't notice this was turkey/chicken instead of ground beef. Don't expect this to be hot. It's has a slightly sweet taste from the thousand island dressing. My husband really liked it. It makes another good chicken dish to serve instead of beef or pork. Think twice about putting the crushed chips in the salad. This recipe makes a large bowl of salad. If you don't think you are going to eat all of it and may have left overs, put the crushed taco chips on each individual serving. Otherwise, the left overs will have soggy chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fantastic! I prefer my dressing 1/2 low fat ranch, 1/2 salsa, otherwise stuck to the recipe, and it was wonderful and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Instead of a packet of taco seasoning, I used one batch of Bill Echols taco seasoning (minus almost all the salt), which is also from this site. I ate mine with just the lettuce, a little 2% cheese and a little FF sour cream but the family ate as is, with the thousand island, cheese and sour cream on the side. My husband liked it with the dressing but the kids wouldn't even try it. For me, this was a low calorie/low carb dinner and a boy pleaser, even though it was made with ground turkey. I suggest you make yours with a homemade taco seasoning only because the flavor is a lot better and there's less salt/fillers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummy! The only changes we made were to use low fat dressing and a can of olives. We also kept the chips separate for leftovers. Everyone loved it! Thanks for a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
made this last night and it is great!!! All the flavors blended wonderfully and it is economical as it will feed a bunch.It was great warm for dinner and even better 3 hours later cold for a midnight snack. I followed the recipe directions exactly how they were written and would not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I give this four stars for taste and 5 for ease. DH loves it and definitely gives it 5 stars, so I rounded up to 5. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! In the past I've used Ranch Doritos instead of tortilla chips. Just another option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was very easy. We loved the flavors. I made it exactly as described. I think I will add a little garlic and onion to the meat next time. It made quite a bit so we added the lettuce and chips on a serving basis. We don't like soggy chips so this was a good solution for us. Waiting also afforded us the ability to heat it up right before serving the leftovers. We will be making this again. It was also very economical. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. We added shredded cheese to it. It is great as is, but another variation that is really good is to use Doritos nacho flavored chips instead of tortilla chips. I love it either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fyffe, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Makes a ton of Taco Salad! Way too much for just my hubby and I. Not a problem but I will try to decrease the recipe next time. I used another reviewers tip and made my dressing half salsa and half ranch dressing and it was very good. Salad is very very tasty but it sure goes soggy fast. I used the taco seasoning recipe mentioned (Bill Echols) and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States