Grandma's Easy Turkey Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
We really liked this. You didn't notice this was turkey/chicken instead of ground beef. Don't expect this to be hot. It's has a slightly sweet taste from the thousand island dressing. My husband really liked it. It makes another good chicken dish to serve instead of beef or pork. Think twice about putting the crushed chips in the salad. This recipe makes a large bowl of salad. If you don't think you are going to eat all of it and may have left overs, put the crushed taco chips on each individual serving. Otherwise, the left overs will have soggy chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
made this last night and it is great!!! All the flavors blended wonderfully and it is economical as it will feed a bunch.It was great warm for dinner and even better 3 hours later cold for a midnight snack. I followed the recipe directions exactly how they were written and would not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. We added shredded cheese to it. It is great as is, but another variation that is really good is to use Doritos nacho flavored chips instead of tortilla chips. I love it either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fyffe, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fantastic! I prefer my dressing 1/2 low fat ranch, 1/2 salsa, otherwise stuck to the recipe, and it was wonderful and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was very easy. We loved the flavors. I made it exactly as described. I think I will add a little garlic and onion to the meat next time. It made quite a bit so we added the lettuce and chips on a serving basis. We don't like soggy chips so this was a good solution for us. Waiting also afforded us the ability to heat it up right before serving the leftovers. We will be making this again. It was also very economical. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
We topped this with avocado slices, salsa, and small dab of sour cream and cheese rather than the thousand island. We'll try the thousand island next time. Its good just as a regular taco salad like we had it though and we thought healthier, instead of the heavy salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is quick and easy and tastes good too. We just added chips, tomato and lettuce as we prepared each plate rather than mixing it all together. I used Thousand Island dressing on mine and loved it. My husband and son used Ranch. We topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! In the past I've used Ranch Doritos instead of tortilla chips. Just another option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummy! The only changes we made were to use low fat dressing and a can of olives. We also kept the chips separate for leftovers. Everyone loved it! Thanks for a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I give this four stars for taste and 5 for ease. DH loves it and definitely gives it 5 stars, so I rounded up to 5. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States