Grandma's Easy Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My 3 year old loves this. I use the meduim shells (easier to eat). Have made many times. Thanks for the great, fast, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I ended up with my grandbabies on a week day night and was wondering what I was going to fix for lunch since I hadn't been to the store and didn't have much in the house that they liked. I made this and they loved it. It was fast and easy and better than taking them out for fast food. I did add a few other spices but I usually do that with most recipes that I find here on AR to our preference. As far as most kids I know they prefer simpler recipes to the more refined taste of adults. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I make this differently...in my family we call this "Sopa Seca" which means "Dry Soup". I use the medium sized shell noodles, margarine, tomato sauce, water and cheddar cheese. You melt some margarine or butter in a skillet, when it's hot you add the dry uncooked shell noodles and brown them a bit. Then you add one can of tomato sauce to it. Add water until the noodles are covered. Cover the skillet and simmer, stirring occassionally and adding water when/if necessary. Once the noodles are cooked, turn the stove off, cover the noodles with cheddar cheese, put the lid back on to melt the cheese then serve. It is not soupy, it is not dry. It does have a good semi strong tomato taste because the pasta absorbs the tomato sauce/water mixture, but we like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATES763

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Newllano, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My family makes this except we use 1/4 lb of COOPER SHARP cheese instead of American. Be sure to use COOPER brand. Other brands, like Cracker Barrel, change the taste significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great for a busy day. The first time I had to make a few small changes - I was out of shells or macaroni so I used the pasta out of 3 boxes of mac'n'cheese. I also used the powdered cheese mix and combined it with the tomato soup. The second time I made it I followed the directions exactly. It was even better! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
this is a simple comfort dish. used to have to make back in the day when grocery money ran low. not a gourmet dish, nor is it something to eat often, but still straight up good comfort food. thanks for the post amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I loved this but I wouldn't eat it too often. It's more of a "sit down and watch a movie/ watch hour after hour if Netflix" even though I would prefer just popcorn myself. My little sister and her friend devoured it. Overall easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Gatie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was good and easy as heck to make. I used cheddar jack shredded cheese plus one slice of american and then I added garlic, salt, and pepper. Finally to serve I lightly sprinkled some shredded cheese on top. My son and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I used a little over half of a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of the american cheese as I do not buy that cheese. I used Healthy Request tomato soup and I added a little fresh ground pepper. Even so, huge hit with the kiddos and I loved it because it was an easy lunch for the boys both to prepare and to clean up! Thank goodness for tomato soup and whole wheat pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Was good fast simple recipe I did use velveta cheese cause that is what the hubby likes. I gave it a four due to cheese change not sure it would be as creamy and smooth with basic american slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States