Grandma's Easy Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Other than adding ground beef and a 1/4 can of water to the sauce I followed the recipe. It's quick, cheap, and makes a lot. It's certainly better than boxed pasta meals and allows you to choose how healthy or not you want to make it. I used Multigrain pasta and light cheddar cheese and lean ground beef (fried and drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I make this differently...in my family we call this "Sopa Seca" which means "Dry Soup". I use the medium sized shell noodles, margarine, tomato sauce, water and cheddar cheese. You melt some margarine or butter in a skillet, when it's hot you add the dry uncooked shell noodles and brown them a bit. Then you add one can of tomato sauce to it. Add water until the noodles are covered. Cover the skillet and simmer, stirring occassionally and adding water when/if necessary. Once the noodles are cooked, turn the stove off, cover the noodles with cheddar cheese, put the lid back on to melt the cheese then serve. It is not soupy, it is not dry. It does have a good semi strong tomato taste because the pasta absorbs the tomato sauce/water mixture, but we like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATES763

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Newllano, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is a great recipe when your hungry but low on cash or ingredients! i use elbow noodles instead of shells, the texture is better to me than the shells. also i only use 1 piece of cheese because i like more of the tomatoe taste than the sliced cheese taste. i try to keep all these ingredients on hand for a lazy day that i dont feel like cooking. the taste is very similar to that of Spagghetti-Os, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggiePunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lawn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I ended up with my grandbabies on a week day night and was wondering what I was going to fix for lunch since I hadn't been to the store and didn't have much in the house that they liked. I made this and they loved it. It was fast and easy and better than taking them out for fast food. I did add a few other spices but I usually do that with most recipes that I find here on AR to our preference. As far as most kids I know they prefer simpler recipes to the more refined taste of adults. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I just made this for Dan. He said it just works better for him than Kraft Mac & Cheese. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
this just doesn't work. Just get some Kraft Mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
While I did not mind the tomato flavor as some people did, I thought this was way too dry and I will not be making it again. Adding the milk to the reheated leftovers did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have to say I couldn't really eat this, but that's probably because I'm not a big fan of American cheese. I might try it again sometime with a different cheese, maybe mozzarella. However, this was indeed a good recipe for picky eaters; my boyfriend thought it was awesome. Even if I can't appreciate it all the simple eaters out there definitely will. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Made this recipe tonight...not impressed. Husband didn't like it, I didn't like it. Not planning to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Did not enjoy. If your kids like SpaghettiOs, they might enjoy the flavor of this recipe, I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States