Grandma's Dried Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We liked this very much. Boyfriend likes lots of meat so I added 1/2 lb of dried beef and used cream of celery soup since I don't like mushrooms... Think I would also try buttered bread crumbs next time to eliminate some of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My whole family really liked this. I soaked the meat first, like others recommend, and I used dried cubes of bread instead of the potato chips. The other thing I did was crumble a little cooked bacon over the bread cubes--maybe the equivalent of two pieces of bacon. My opinion is that it is fine. It is definitely comfort food and inexpensive to make. I think it is a little dry, though, but like I said, my whole family liked this. My son keeps coming back into the kitchen for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My family and I found this recipe very good. Did soak the beef for a bit knowing that its alittle salty. It came out great. Was really easy. Used shredded cheese as that is what I had on hand. Would be good with Pastrami and rye bread breads on top too. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Excellent! Tuna would be good also instead of the dried beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My family enjoyed this casserole. It was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKPeirano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was simple and the whole family loved it. I used bread crumbs instead of chips.We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I wanted to add this review as others found that the dried beef is too salty. The solution to salty dried beef is to remove much of the salt. Place the beef in a bowl of cold water, swish it around and allow it to soak for a few minutes, drain and pat each piece dry before chopping and adding to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We love dried beef, and this was almost like making chipped beef & gravy and just adding the noodles. I added crushed ritz crackers since didn't have chips for the top but otherwise made as the recipe said and we thought it was pretty good. A little bland but more pepper helped with that. Thanks Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was a little too salty for my family. If I tried it again I would try using low sodium soup, but I'm not even sure that would cut the salt enough for us. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States