Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was my Mom's "recipe" too! Except we use the regular Pillsbury biscuit cans that come in a four pack. They're great! When we have guests I make dozens of these and serve them with a buffet of toppings... confectioner's & regular sugar, but also a cinnamin/sugar mix, apple butter, a sugar glaze, icing, and whatever homemade jellies or jams I have around. It's always a hit! Plus the kids LOVE to flavor their own doughnut holes! Oh yeah! If you cut them in strips & twist them they flip on their own just like the holes do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Delicious! The powdered sugar did not work very well with me, but cinnamon and sugar were by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was fantastic. I never knew making doughnuts could be so easy! I am thrilled with this recipe it was delicious and incredibly simple! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This is a fast and easy snack to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Tastes great and really easy.....your imagination could be dangerously fattening....but oh so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGRL100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I absolutely love these doughnuts! They are so quick and easy! Sure, they are not cakey and yeasty, but that's the BEST part of it all! Makes them taste alot like Krispy Kreme doughnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoycieSweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
These are great! I liked the Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits the best, rather than the cheaper brand flaky style. I rolled some in cinnamon and sugar while still hot and some I frosted with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe after they cooled. Try the frosted with a sprinkle of coconut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I grew up with my mom making these for us on the weekends. I love them and can't wait to make them for my kids. I think the name "doughnut" is a little misleading. I am from Baton Rouge and this is really a quick way of making beignets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
My son and I had lots of fun making and eating these quick, easy and delicious donuts! What a fun and quick snack when you want something sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My sister was taught this recipe when she was in high school. I loved it then...I love it now. Only problem is now I'm fat ;) and can't have many! Oh well I rather have a couple as none. Try this super fast and super good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States