Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
GREAT! We've made them this way since we were kids. I'm sure they have easier ways, but we always used a (clean) medicine bottle to make the doughnut holes & fry them up also. If you like a little frosting/icing on the doughnut, we like to mix a small batch of conf. sugar, evap. milk & vanilla to dip the doughnut & holes in...yummy, but fattening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
ymmmmm it was goooooood. I made these for breakfast last weekend. My daughter doesn't care for doughnuts, but she asked me to make some more. Question... is there any way I can squeeze custard inside these daughnuts??? (then again, if that's possible, my diet is forever ruined...) After they were fried squeezed cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
1 star Too salty for me. I'd rather make my own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
tasted nothing like donuts. Too much like bread, and not enough "cake" taste. Tasted more like dumplings (even with the sugar coating/glazing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I have made these for years.I do not cut the hole out and I roll them in just sugar.The kids the love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My mother used to make these doughnuts for me like this when I was a little girl. I now make them for my children. They love them as much as I did. Sometimes I use powder suger to make a glaze and drizzle over the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claflin, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Been making these for about 20 years~Watch out they are addicting! I buy the cheap biscuits myself and just put my finger in the hole and stretch and fry. You won't be able to get enough of them. My kids always loved these.... :) Me too. Hehe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My mom used to make these when we were growing up, and now I make them too (not very often, though)...they are GREAT! I don't always roll the doughnuts in the powdered sugar, sometimes in cinnamon sugar, or sometimes I'll make a chocolate or vanilla glaze and top w/ sprinkles. Don't forget to fry the doughnut holes too! These really are super easy and a lot of fun to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Rarely do I find a recipe on here that is unanimously rate 5 stars. I can't wait to try these. If eating these doughnuts is half as fun as reading these reviews, I can't go wrong :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I used to make these all the time, but I roll mine in cinnamon sugar. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States