Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Simple and delicious! Great for a quick treat for my kids. I made a basic glaze out of water and powdered sugar. The donuts were light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I've been making these for years and both my kids and grandkids gobble them up. This is how those little doughnuts at your favorite Chinese place are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These are very tasty. I made them for a party and everyone just raved over them. I served them hot and made a "thing" about cooking them up in different shapes. I even stuffed some with my homemade strawberry preserves. That brouhg out the "ooh's" and "Ahh's". messy and gooey and delicious! I'm only giving four stars just because I am a big fan of yeast donuts. But, these are certainly in a class that is to be enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
In our cafe we used to roll the biscuit to a round shape and then deep fry. While still hot shake them in a paper bag with sugar and cinnamon. For some reason we found that the cheaper brands worked better for this application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this was so easy I used the small can of buttermilk biscuit next time I will use the bigger can. They were so light and delish even my picky eater likd them and don't forget so easy defineatly a keeper Thank you for the great and extremely easy recipe. It will be our little secret sssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
GREAT! We've made them this way since we were kids. I'm sure they have easier ways, but we always used a (clean) medicine bottle to make the doughnut holes & fry them up also. If you like a little frosting/icing on the doughnut, we like to mix a small batch of conf. sugar, evap. milk & vanilla to dip the doughnut & holes in...yummy, but fattening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
ymmmmm it was goooooood. I made these for breakfast last weekend. My daughter doesn't care for doughnuts, but she asked me to make some more. Question... is there any way I can squeeze custard inside these daughnuts??? (then again, if that's possible, my diet is forever ruined...) After they were fried squeezed cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
1 star Too salty for me. I'd rather make my own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
tasted nothing like donuts. Too much like bread, and not enough "cake" taste. Tasted more like dumplings (even with the sugar coating/glazing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States