Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Why is this considered a 'recipe'?? Open up a can & fry isn't a recipe. There is nothing new here which is noted by the sheer number of people posting they've made these for years. I learned to do this in 7th grade Home Ec class 45 years ago. They aren't very good either. Not even when baked at biscuits! I was looking for a good old fashioned Grandma recipe I'd be proud to serve. This certainly isn't it. I'm very disappointed that it's even been allowed to be posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Best doughnut I've ever had. Very quick and easy to make. I didn't cut a hole in them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Our family made these doughnut while camping, except we used a frying pan with less oil. Also we did some without making holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tastes more like Italian Zepoles which we happen to like. Be sure to cook it until golden brown then really drench it in powdered sugar for full effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Simple and delicious! Great for a quick treat for my kids. I made a basic glaze out of water and powdered sugar. The donuts were light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I've been making these for years and both my kids and grandkids gobble them up. This is how those little doughnuts at your favorite Chinese place are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These are very tasty. I made them for a party and everyone just raved over them. I served them hot and made a "thing" about cooking them up in different shapes. I even stuffed some with my homemade strawberry preserves. That brouhg out the "ooh's" and "Ahh's". messy and gooey and delicious! I'm only giving four stars just because I am a big fan of yeast donuts. But, these are certainly in a class that is to be enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Bass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
In our cafe we used to roll the biscuit to a round shape and then deep fry. While still hot shake them in a paper bag with sugar and cinnamon. For some reason we found that the cheaper brands worked better for this application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this was so easy I used the small can of buttermilk biscuit next time I will use the bigger can. They were so light and delish even my picky eater likd them and don't forget so easy defineatly a keeper Thank you for the great and extremely easy recipe. It will be our little secret sssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States