Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Used to make these when my sons (now in their 30's) were young and would come in from skating, playing in the snow with all their friends. They are good, quick and easy. I used to make them, fill zip lock bags with confectioner's sugar and another with cinnamon and sugar and let them shake their own. They are not as wonderful as homemade, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Egremont, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great and easy!! I used Betty Crocker whipped fluffly white frosting and it is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My mom always made donuts this way and I've continued with my kids. They can be just as easily fried in a frying pan if you don't want to mess with your deep-fryer. I gave them four instead of five stars only due to the high calorie/fat content, not taste...everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wow, I thought my grandma was the only one who ever did this. Mine taught me this shortcut to making doughnuts when I was nine years old. I loved them!! We made them almost every weekend. When I got this recipe in my email it brought back so many memories. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdreamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alto, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
You can also put small amount of oil in a skillet..turn each donut over once..can place on wax paper and glaze or shake in cinnamon sugar in paper or ziploc bag..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making these for years. I also leave the biscuits whole and after frying I fill them with jelly or custard or a white cream filling. Then for even more special donuts after filling I glaze them with either a white or chocolate glaze then put sprinkles on them . Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My kids loved when I made these doughnuts. Like most kids, they loved the doughnut holes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Perrine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
fantastic. If you heat the oil correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good! They do have the "biscuit" taste to them but when you add frosting and sprinkles you can't tell too much! This was a hit with my kids! Easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Not to get all TMI on everyone, but when it's "that time of the month" I crave apple pie like nobody's business! So I make these donuts, using a baster to add apple pie filling to the center instead of cutting a hole in the middle. While they're draining, I sprinkle generously with cinnamon and sugar. The result is Apple Pie Donut Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States