Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
You can also put small amount of oil in a skillet..turn each donut over once..can place on wax paper and glaze or shake in cinnamon sugar in paper or ziploc bag..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making these for years. I also leave the biscuits whole and after frying I fill them with jelly or custard or a white cream filling. Then for even more special donuts after filling I glaze them with either a white or chocolate glaze then put sprinkles on them . Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My kids loved when I made these doughnuts. Like most kids, they loved the doughnut holes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
fantastic. If you heat the oil correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good! They do have the "biscuit" taste to them but when you add frosting and sprinkles you can't tell too much! This was a hit with my kids! Easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Not to get all TMI on everyone, but when it's "that time of the month" I crave apple pie like nobody's business! So I make these donuts, using a baster to add apple pie filling to the center instead of cutting a hole in the middle. While they're draining, I sprinkle generously with cinnamon and sugar. The result is Apple Pie Donut Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MENZIETO
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made these doughnuts with my nieces who are 3 & 4 years old. They helped by making the doughnut holes and decorated them. And I did the frying. Everyone loved them. The powdered sugar one tasted just like a beignet. We topped the donuts with powder sugar, cinnamon sugar, chocolate and vanilla glaze. This was such an easy recipe. Great for kids too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENZIETO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
In N Carolina they call these "puffs" and serve them with a drizzle of honey instead of sugar. Restaurants bill them as Puffs and Honey. They certainly are not doughnuts but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I used to make this for my girl's when they were young. they are 33,& 31 now. I loved them,but i have to be on a glutin free diet. But i will give this 5 star's because they are so yummy. Wish i could eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I've been making these for years with my students and at home. They are also very good sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States